William’s Knits

My son’s best mate has just become a father to a little baby boy born on 31 October; his name is William and you’ve guessed it, what better gift to give than knitted goodies. So I’ve made a start as William will be six months old next winter. I had already made this little hat as I wasn’t sure whether the baby would be a boy or a girl.

Red Mock Cable Hat 04

It’s one of my favourite baby hat patterns called Mock Cable Baby Hat and it’s a free Ravelry pattern.

Red Mock Cable Hat 02

I used Patons Big Baby 8ply, a lovely soft baby yarn. I’m pretty sure little William likes his hat don’t you?

William red hat

These little goodies will be winging their way to William before winter next year. A gorgeous little vest called the Chris Woven Yoke Vest. I found the pattern in my Knitting Pattern a Day Calendar 2012. There are some lovely knitting patterns in these calendars.

Chris Woven Yoke Vest 01

This little vest is knitted using Ice Yarns Dancing Baby which is a 100% acrylic yarn. I have quite a few colourways of this yarn and they are quite stunning.

Chris Woven Yoke Vest 04

Chris Woven Yoke Vest 05

There’s a little bit of stretch in this vest so I hope it fits little William next winter.

Chris Woven Yoke Vest 02

And a matching hat too!

Hat Blue Camel White 01

It’s from the free pattern Easy Rolled Brim Hat although I have modified it slightly. I kept decreasing until there were four stitches left, K2tog: three stitches left. I then proceeded to knit an I-cord for an inch or so and tied a small knot in it. Looks so much cuter I think.

Hat Blue Camel White 02

Hat Blue Camel White 03

And then I made this hat using the same pattern but casting on 128 stitches and using the Patons Big Baby 8ply yarn in three colours.

Hat RBW 01

I’m not sure what age this hat will fit but hopefully William will find some use for it!

Hat RBW 02

Hat RBW 03

Knitting baby garments is so gratifying as they don’t take long at all. Remember all those hats I made a year or so ago for two friends who were having babies?

To finish off I want to show you the gorgeous colours of the poinciana trees which are in full bloom in the Redlands this spring. It’s one of the best displays I’ve seen in years.

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 01

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 02

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 03

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 04

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 10

Poincianas Cleveland 19-11-14 06

Beautiful aren’t they?

One more pic of this little vest. I love it!

Chris Woven Yoke Vest 07

Whoops I nearly forgot…I was rather chuffed when the pattern writer (Dominique Trad from New South Wales, Australia) of the Frillilly scarf contacted me to ask whether my picture of her scarf could be featured on the pattern page as she loved the yarn I’d used. Of course I said yes; it’s the second photo on the pattern page, She also offered me a complimentary pattern of my choice from her selection so I picked the Autumn Rainbow top. Thank you Dominique!!

I’m off to Knit and Knatter this afternoon so I hope you all have a wonderful crafty weekend. Until next time.

Melanie

2 thoughts on “William’s Knits

  1. Lots of baby knitting Mel. As to the poinciana trees – they tell me that plants respond to really dry seasons by producing lots of flowers (and thus seeds) to keep the species going. The one on my footpath has just burst into glorious bloom.

    I’ve always referred to poincianas as our “Christmas trees” because they are always blooming for December. When I was asked to submit poetry for the Cleveland Streetscape project (around 20 years ago I think) one of the three poems I submitted was called “Cleveland Christmas Trees”.

    But the one they chose to be carved into stone (now situated in the garden bed outsude the Westpac Bank) was the one that came to me while I was in the shower: “Quandamooka Jewels”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

