Knitted Hats!

It’s not often you need to wear a knitted hat in Brisbane unless you’re off to a State of Origin rugby league game on a cold June evening (which I never go to!) but these two patterns caught my eye when I was searching through Ravelry. I think they may come in handy when I visit New Zealand next year.

The first is this gorgeous Pumpkin Pie Hat which I absolutely fell in love with (I think it may have been the colour of the yarn the pattern writer used!)

Pumpkin Pie Hat 01

You can knit the hat either in the slouch size or the beanie size. I picked the slouch size but in hindsight with my short hair the beanie size would have been better but I have solved that problem! I simply turned the brim up.

Pumpkin Pie Hat 02

Pumpkin Pie Hat 03

This is what it looks like in the slouch mode. It looks more like I’ve got a growth on the back of my head šŸ™‚

Pumpkin Pie Hat 07

It’s certainly a gorgeous stitch pattern.

Pumpkin Pie Hat 06

It took me ages to get this photo. Thank goodness for digital cameras where you can just delete all those dud photos. I just held the camera in one hand and just started clicking and took heaps of photos. Usually there’s a few that are okay and the rest are not!

Pumpkin Pie Hat 04

And I might add that if you visit the pattern page on Ravelry you’ll notice the pattern is free until 31 December this year!

The yarn I used is Moda Vera Pure Wool 8ply. I bought it a while ago and as soon as I saw this pattern I knew this yarn would be perfect.

Moda Vera Pure Wool 8ply Tangerine

My second pattern is the Dragon Leaf Hat which I managed to download at the right time as it was free for a short while. This was a ‘hit and miss’ project for me as the pattern called for 8ply / DK yarn and I used 4ply / fingering yarn and I just guessed the number of repeats. It’s a smidge loose but I’m quite happy with it nevertheless.

Dragon Leaf Hat 05

This is a bit of a’slouchy’ hat.

Dragon Leaf Hat 01

I love the pattern detail.

Dragon Leaf Hat 06

Dragon Leaf Hat 04

I didn’t block this hat as I was worried if I stretched it too much it would be much too big for me.

Dragon Leaf Hat 03

The yarn I used is Tili Tomas Artisan Sock in this lovely shade of green.

Tili Tomas Sock Yarn Grass

You could say I am quite happy with these two projects.

Now to deviate a bit. I was recently offered an alpaca fleece which of course I jumped at the opportunity of owning! This is a quick look at that fleece.

Alpaca fleece

And a look at the alpaca after it had been shorn. Priceless!

Alpaca shorn 01

I’m off to Knit and Knatter tomorrow which is being held in conjunction with a Suitcase Rummage at the Redland Performing Arts Centre at 11am so if you’re in that area, drop in!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

6 thoughts on “Knitted Hats!

Leave a Reply

