Three Stashbuster Cowls

I have devised the best little stashbuster cowl pattern which is easy to knit and ideal when you’re talking with friends and don’t want to have to concentrate on a complicated pattern.

Now for the instructions:

You can use any yarn and needle size keeping in mind what you combine will result in various sized cowls. I used a provisional cast on but you can easily cast on normally and then sew the two ends together.

Cast on an uneven number of stitches. I think the least amount of stitches I’ve used is 17 and the most is around 33. It will depend on how much yarn you have and how wide you want your cowl to be.

Knit two rows
K3, *YO, K2tog, repeat from * to last two sts, K2
K3 rows
K3, *YO, K2tog, repeat from * to last two sts, K2
K3 rows
and so on.

Finish after knitting one row of the K3 row and then graft together. You could also place a twist in the cowl before grafting to give a bit of a moebius effect.

Here are three of my cowls.

Chantilly Cowl 01

This is my Chantilly Cowl made withΒ Moda Vera Chantilly which is a 70% acrylic / 30% milk protein yarn.

Chantilly Cowl 02

This cowl is all wrapped up and ready to give to my Mum for Christmas.

Chantilly Cowl 04

The second is my Kaleidoscope Cowl…

Kaleidoscope Cowl 03

You could even double it to make a lovely snug cowl on a really cold day!

Kaleidoscope Cowl 05

I used Cleckheaton Kaleidoscope which is a 10ply / Aran 100% wool.

I placed a ‘twist’ in this cowl before grafting the ends together.

Kaleidoscope Cowl 06

And the third is my Taylor Cowl…

Taylor Cowl 01

This cowl sits quite beautifully when it’s doubled and when it’s not…

Taylor Cowl 02

A perfect cowl for evening wear as it has a bit of a metallic thread through it.

Taylor Cowl 04

The yarn I used is Moda Vera Taylor which is a 5ply / sport 56% polyester / 44% wool.

My next cowl is still on the needles but this is the silk I’m using to make it. Isn’t it stunning?

Marigold Silk Variegated

That’s all my yarning news for the moment. As we roll into a new week I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas and that Father Christmas bring you lots of yarn-related goodies to add to your stash πŸ™‚

Santa knitting 2

Until next time…

Melaniet

6 thoughts on “Three Stashbuster Cowls

  1. Hi Mel,
    Your cowls are lovely and thanks for the pattern. Hope your holidays are wonderful too and that Santa is good to you! πŸ™‚ Viv

    Like

  2. I love your crowls! The blue one is my favorite! The picture of Santa Clause knitting is certainly a classic. I always knew Santa had to knit! Where else would all those wonderful hand knit presents from him have come from if he didn’t . πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and very happy new year!
    Susan

    Like

Leave a Reply

