A Dramatic Leftie!

After I’d finished knitting my first Leftie I was quite enamoured with the pattern so I started thinking about knitting another one! Ironically, I had not long purchased this wool from Spotlight.

Shepherd Colour For Me black 01Black is not generally colour I would purchase but it’s a good quality wool (Shepherd Colour 4 Me) and it was only $1.40 ball so I thought I’d stash it away for another day. Little did I know that day would arrive so quickly. I immediately thought how bold solid colours would really ‘pop’ against the black. My next project was now a reality and Leftie # 2 was created.

Leftie Scarf # 2 03Don’t those colours simply look so effective against the black?

Leftie Scarf # 2 05I used size 4.5mm needles and a selection of 8ply yarns predominantly Ashford Tekapo followed by Cleckheaton Country and Lincraft Cosy. These are the colours I used.

Leftie Scarf # 2 12I have a stack of the Ashford Tekapo that I bought on Ebay a couple of years ago for around $1 a ball. It’s really good to start using some of it. This scarf will go to New Zealand with me on my cruise in April this year.

Leftie Scarf # 2 06I love all these bright and happy colours!

Leftie Scarf # 2 07Leftie Scarf # 2 08Leftie Scarf # 2 09Leftie Scarf # 2 10And a picture to give you an idea of what the scarf looks like in its entirety.

Leftie Scarf # 2 04Another successful projects off the needles!

Leftie Scarf # 2 15I hope I have inspired you to knit a Leftie! It’s the perfect pattern to adapt using any size yarn and needles.

I had a wonderful time at Knit and Knatter yesterday although it was quite humid. There were eleven of us and we didn’t let the weather stifle our enthusiasm!

This morning (humid again) I moved some furniture and re-arranged my two stash rooms to make way for a small wardrobe which is currently housed in my garage. I need all the space I can get in the garage as my new car is larger than the previous one and it’s a tight squeeze opening the front door and getting in and out. Next weekend my son will come over and help me move the wardrobe and also take a bit of excess old furniture to the dump for me.

I’m now going to turn on the fan and read my book and later go for a swim. Tonight I’ll do some knitting. You didn’t think this weather would stop me knitting did you? I’m on a UFO roll at the moment. After I finished a pair of socks yesterday, I finally completed a shawl I’d been knitting for nearly a year. Tonight I might even tackle another UFO! Wonders will never cease.

Until next time…

Melanie

 

4 thoughts on “A Dramatic Leftie!

Leave a Reply

