Gorgeous New Zealand Wool

I have enough stash to probably last me two lifetimes however you didn’t really expect me to visit New Zealand and not acquire a little bit of wool did you? If only I had more than two arms and could carry off lots of baggage…I surely would have purchased even more!!

While visiting The Agrodome in Rotorua, I came upon this gorgeous variegated Ashford Tekapo 8ply wool. You get a generous 200g per ball so I picked up five balls at $12.50 each. Not sure what I’m going to make but that’s beside the point. Ashford Tekapo Green Mix 02This is the scene that greeted me when I entered The Woollen Mill at The Agrodome. Gorgeous isn’t it? A knitter’s paradise I say. I really didn’t want to leave. In fact, I was the last person to board the bus.

Agrodome 30The Agrodome also sold lots and lots of knitted goodies which were very invitingly displayed. Agrodome 32Agrodome 33Agrodome 34When we arrived in Dunedin and were transported to The Octagon in the city centre it was still too early for the shops to open so I wandered around and found a couple of wool shops. I was on the doorstep of Knit World when it opened and picked up two balls of this Happy Feet sock yarn made in Auckland. I’ve already started a pair of socks in the orange mix and they’re coming along a treat.

Knit World

Happy Feet Sock Yarn GreenHappy Feet Sock Yarn OrangeAs I was savouring all the yarn in the shop, I came across this lone skein of gorgeous Touch Yarns 8ply Merino so I quickly snaffled it.

Touch Yarns 8plyAround the corner and into Seriously Twisted where they had a small selection of yarns and a larger selection of knitted goods. I bought six balls of Rare Earth alpaca yarn for $10 each.

Seriously Twisted 02Rare Earth Humus Alpaca 8ply 02And then my eyes were caught on a bundle of Touch Yarns possum/merino in the colours I just love!!! It was very expensive indeed but I figured it’s not every day I’m shopping in Dunedin so I talked myself into buying two skeins. I might add it didn’t take me long to convince myself that I really needed this yarn 🙂

Touch Yarns Merino Possum 4ply 01While I was in Carterton with Mary who had picked me up from the ship in Wellington, we visited a little shop that was chock-a-block full of sewing needs and yarn. There was so much to pick from however I spotted this Opal sock yarn in colours that I was quite taken with. Opan Sock YarnAs well as yarn, I also acquired quite a few pairs of gloves, ponchos, a scarf and hat…all made from lovely New Zealand wool.

I love all these gloves made with a mixture of possum and merino wool. And yes I know you’re probably thinking ‘how many hands does this woman have?’ but seriously I couldn’t make up my mind which ones I liked best so I bought them all. You never know, it could one day snow in Brisbane. Wishful thinking I know.Gloves 01-tileAnd these two ponchos, also made with a possum/merino mixture. Ponchos are perfect as they keep your back, chest and shoulders warm and at the same time your arms are not restricted. Great for walking to work in the crisp mornings.

Poncho 01-tileI couldn’t resist this cute little hat. As I’d bought gloves and ponchos it seemed silly not to have a nice little hat! HatSomeone on Ravelry had directed me to this shop in Dunedin. It’s called the Stuart Street Potters Co-operative and although it sells mainly pottery, it also sells some handspun yarn and handmade woollen garments. I picked up this scarf in this lovely shade of lime green.

Lime Green Scarf 01Lime Green Scarf 05Lime Green Scarf 08-tile

(If you click on the above image you’ll be able to read the label wording)

Even though the weather is gradually cooling down in Brisbane, I am still hoping we have a few colder days in winter so I can wear all my lovely New Zealand woollies!!

That’s my news for the moment. I’ve been beavering away at two new scarves….both the same pattern….but I was so keen to see the look of each scarf with different yarn that I couldn’t wait to finish one. No wonder I have so many UFOs!!!

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Gorgeous New Zealand Wool

  1. I’m so glad you had such successful shopping – and particularly that you found some of Marnie Kelly’s wonderful Touch Yarns. I think she has one (or rather two) of the best eyes for colour and texture in the business.

    Like

    • I agree Mary. She dyes gorgeous yarn. We have a few incredibly talented yarn dyers here in Australia that I particularly love – Shorn Fibers (Queensland), Dyed By Hand Yarns (Victoria), Skein (New South Wales) and Augustbird (South Australia). I’ve purchased a bit of each of their yarns.

      Like

  2. I love all the yarn and I could NOT have resisted those gloves-especially the ones with the sheep knitted in! I cannot wait to see what you make out of the different yarns. I never imagined you could spin possum fur but I don;t know why I didn’t. My daughter had a pomeranian and we saved her undercoat and I had it spun into yarn. And it was beautiful!
    Hugs

    Like

    • Possums are protected here in Australia unlike in NZ where they are an introduced pest. Possum/merino garments are light and warm. It’s amazing what you can actually spin….dog hair….cat hair….bunny, goat and the list goes on 🙂

      Like

  3. I am so glad you had some great yarn shopping experiences! I think you need to move to a more southerly location so you have more opportunities enjoy all those lovely goodies you got!

    Like

    • You’re definitely right. I’ve always dreamed of retiring to either Tasmania or New Zealand but I don’t think my son would leave Queensland and I’m not sure I could be that far away from him.

      Like

  4. Maybe you should move to somewhere near Mt Tamborine, on the inland side of the range. It does manage to get quite chilly here. It has also been known to have snowed on Mt Tamborine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

