Miss Winkle

Miss Winkle….isn’t that a most unusual name for a scarf pattern? It’s one of three patterns that I recently purchased from Martina Behm on Ravelry. The other two patterns were Endless Rainbow (which I have yet to knit) and Leftie (I’ve made two!).

Miss Winkle Pink 01Before I went on my recent cruise around New Zealand, I packed a few knitting projects and Miss Winkle was one of them. It’s such an interesting pattern with those loops on one side. As the scarf grew I got quite a few comments from other passengers on the ship. Miss Winkle Pink 03I selected this gorgeous yarn from my stock of Shorn Fibers’ yarns. It’s Tuff Sock in the colour way ‘Anna Perenna’. Needle size is 3mm.

Shorn Fibers BFL Tuff Sock Anna Perenna 01Shorn Fibers BFL Tuff Sock Anna Perenna 02Martina’s patterns are always so interesting. She must dream about knitting patterns all day long!  What I loved about this pattern was the fact I soon got into a rhythm once I’d knitted a few rows. The loops made the knitting interesting and the garter stitch rows made it easy so it’s a win-win situation. Miss Winkle Pink 04It’s also a nice narrow scarf so it’s not a ‘heavy’ project to cart around. Miss Winkle Pink 08I might add that I did what Martina suggested and used a piece of dowel to slip through the loops when I was blocking the scarf and it certainly made the loops stand to attention! Miss Winkle Pink 05Miss Winkle Pink 07I’ve also started my second Miss Winkle scarf as I’ll be giving this one to my sister who was diagnosed with breast cancer in November 2010. I think this pink colour is quite appropriate and it’ll make a nice surprise gift. Miss Winkle Pink 02I’m off to join the ladies from the QldBaysideYarnClub at Tingalpa this afternoon for a few hours of knitting pleasure and chatting. Love these sessions soooo much!!

Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Miss Winkle

  1. Hi Melanie, you always pick very nice projects. I have added Miss Winkle to my cart! I have the other too and love them. Love the color you used too 🙂 Viv

    Like

Leave a Reply

