# 13 in the Flock

It’s been a while since you’ve seen any additions to my flock of spinning wheels. Well that’s about to change. Here is # 13. This addition was a complete surprise to me. I received a phone call from someone who was giving away her wheel, spare bobbins, lazy kate, niddy noddy and a few bags of carded fleece and would I like them. Would I like them!!!! Of course I said yes.

The wheel is an Ashford Traditional. Now I know I already have two of these wheels but this is special; it’s a double drive and I particularly love double drives.

Ashford Traditional DD 01After a clean up with my special concoction the wheel was gleaming.

Ashford Traditional DD 06The ubiquitous name of Ashford.

Ashford Traditional DD 04The previous owner had also sewn a cover for the spinning wheel! Perfect for keeping the dust at bay a little bit.

Ashford Traditional DD 10There were also three bags of carded fleece. This bag was purchased at the Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day back before I even started spinning! I’ve used some of the other two bags as stuffing for a teddy bear I’ve just knitted so he’s a 100% wool bear!

White carded fleeceAnd of course there was the lazy kate that I blogged about previously.

Free Lazy Kate 03It had no rungs but I bought some cheap tent pegs and they’re perfect!

Free Lazy Kate 01I’ve been spinning on this wheel today using a bag of cheap carded fleece that I picked up recently for only $8. It’s a bit matted in places but is perfect for practice spinning. I’ll probably use it to make toys as it’ll be a bit scratchy against the skin. And those little matted bits haven’t been wasted either. I’ve put them on the fence in between the palings in the hope that some birds may be looking for some nesting material 🙂

DSC07652And now for something exciting to show you. On the 16 June at the Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day, these simply gorgeous sheep mugs will be for sale. They’re still drying off and need to be coloured and fired (I think that’s the right terminology 🙂 ) but here’s a sneak peek.

Sheep Mugs drying 01Kimberly from Earth & Stone Creations has been working day and night to get these little beauties ready. But you’re going to have to be quick because there will only be 20 available and each one will be numbered. It’s a time consuming process making each one so that’s why there will only be 20 ready for Open Day.

Sheep Mugs drying 02I think I’ve worn Kimberly out with my suggestions for ‘sheepy’ things to make for the Open Day but I know these mugs will sell like hotcakes as will her yarn bowls. I’ve just bought my second one!!!

Yarn Bowl Orange 02And if you have a tiled floor, don’t worry as each yarn bowl has little ‘feet’ so it won’t slide across the floor or leave any marks. Yarn Bowl Orange 05This a collection of some of Kimberly’s goodies that she took to the Queensland Spinners & Weavers Open Day last Sunday. What a fantastic selection. At the bottom of the picture is a large yarn bowl that can accommodate two balls of wool and when you’re not using it as a yarn bowl it can accommodate fruit!!!!

Yarn bowls KimberlyIf you’re interested in purchasing pottery items, I really can’t recommend Kimberly’s work enough. She’s open to a challenge and will try and accommodate any custom orders. If you ‘like’ her Facebook page you’ll see what she’s up to as she posts photos of her projects. I have absolutely no financial affiliation with Earth & Stone Creations but I am so impressed with Kimberly’s pottery that I just want to share it with everyone. Kimberly can also be contacted at kimberlydawnartistry@gmail.com and she does post her orders.

That’s my news for today. I really cannot wait until 16 June!!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

2 thoughts on “# 13 in the Flock

  1. I was unlucky enough to actually leave Queensland last Friday two days too early but had to get back to Vic for WORK you know that four letter word that funds our hobbies, I was unable to buy any spinning related items while away in qld/or NSW but did pick up two bags of tops at wangratta wool mills ,plus a fair bit of yarn oops.Oh well haven’t been there before and possible wont for ages, well that is my excuse ,
    I have been spinning and trying to wave on an inkle loom i bought at the op shop, but think i will have to send it back to the op shop, if my husband cant make a few more alterations, it was not well made and the pegs are really not in the right places I don’t think. It has been years since i used an inkle loom and i had better tension in those days Oh well try again next week

    Like

    • I would love to learn to weave but that is something that has to wait until I retire as I am so busy spinning and knitting and working full time! I thought Victoria would have lots of spinning related items as your climate is so much colder in winter. Good luck weaving on your inkle loom!

      Like

Leave a Reply

