The BEST Open Day!

Oh my gosh I don’t know where to start. It was the most amazingly successful Open Day at a terrific venue. We had an increase in over 75% attendance. The event was simply buzzing with so many people. 99% of the publications I approached to print our Open Day notice obliged so word got around Brisbane-wide! Spencer Howson even mentioned it on his radio show on 612 ABC Brisbane.

Busy buying 02Busy buying 04Owen, who’s known as Wheelsmith on Ravelry brought along some of his antique spinning wheels (that’s a wheel that is 100 years or over in age!).

Antique Wheels 02-tileAntique Wheels 04-tileAntique Wheels 06-tileAntique Wheels 09-tileI was still not 100% well but as I am part of the Open Day Committee I had my duties to attend to. I couldn’t do too much talking as I’d nearly lost my voice but I did manage to re-acquaint myself with Owen and told him about my recent trip to New Zealand where I met Mary Knox who’s the ultimate guru when it comes to New Zealand spinning wheels. Owen’s face lit up as he knew exactly who I was talking about. So, Mary if your ears were burning on Tuesday morning that’s why ๐Ÿ™‚

We had some amazing traders at the event. These are the gorgeous pottery sheep mugs made by Kimberly from Earth & Stone Creations. I know you’ve heard me talk about Kimberly’s work quite a bit but trust me, it is beautiful. If you’re after a present for a knitter, why not consider a pottery yarn bowl? You’d be loved forever!!

Kimberly pottery 08I am the proud owner of these three little beauties. Kimberly very kindly gave me one of the coloured ones.

Sheep Mugs 04-tileNow this photo is a little blurry but I’m trying to show you that under the coloured mugs Kimberly has engraved “Mels Mug” and under the white mug there is a number as only 20 were made; this is 1/20.

Sheep Mugs 05-tileKimberly’s pottery yarn bowls were selling like hotcakes. I believe she brought along two of these huge three-ball bowls and they both sold!

Kimberly Pottery 03Vivianne was there with her gorgeous soaps.

VivianneK Soaps 01One of our members was also selling her soaps so we’re all going to be smelling like roses!

Judy soap 02One of our members is in her mid 90s and made these two knitted blankets and entered them into the fashion parade. They are simply amazing! Well done Grace.

Grace blanket 01Grace blanket 02Our members had their own table where we sold our wares. I sold some mug hugs and spinning/yarn/sheep charm keyrings as well as my Cream Leftie. I won’t despair as I have enough yarn to make another one exactly the same!

Members table 03What made the day really interactive is that, as well as three of our members demonstrating spinning, one also had a little workshop teaching others the traditional craft of ragmatting. This table was never empty!

Ragmatting 04Ragmatting 05We were also lucky enough to have Carly Kotynski, a local weaver of natural fibres holding a small workshop too.

Basket weaving 01Basket weaving 02Basket weaving 04Honestly, there was so much happening that I was in a constant whirl! I was taking as many photos as I could, whilst shopping, trying to talk, having a quick coffee and something to eat. It really was the best day.

Desley had a table filled with her gorgeous had sewn goodies.

Desleys table 02We also had our Ashford distributor who is also a member of our club.

Lindys table 04Contemplating this Ashford Traditional before the crowds arrived!

Before the rush 01dThe eating area was packed…no spare seats to be seen.

Eating area 03This is just a snapshot of the traders that attended on the day but if I uploaded all my photos you’d be here all day reading this post ๐Ÿ™‚ You can see more photos on the Redlands Spinners & Weavers website here.

Next week I’ll show you what I bought from those traders!

A couple more pics of those happy people shopping for a bargain!

Our gratitude goes to our local Council who provided the venue for our Open Day. It is so much larger than our previous venue and traders were able to really spread out and show their wares to full advantage. We received so much positive feedback from our visitors about the venue and the actual day. Congratulations Redlands Spinners & Weavers! What a mammoth team effort!

Before the rush 03Busy buying 05Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “The BEST Open Day!

Leave a Reply

