A Star is Born!

Well, maybe not quite a star but I am pleased to say that an article appeared in today’s Wynnum Herald which was sourced a few weeks ago by a local journalist. Now this is not a great copy as I’ve downloaded it from a photo taken by a friend of mine. As I’m at Noosaville I can’t actually get to an original copy until I get home.

Wynnum Herald articleUnfortunately, they spelt my surname incorrectly and there’s a couple of other minor errors but as the interview was done over the phone, I’m at least pleased they got the gist of the story correct. The journalist found me through this blog which is good to know.

I visited Sheep Thrills this morning for a short session of social knitting (I’ll return tomorrow). Nothing nicer than looking at something like this while you’re knitting and chatting..

Sheep Thrills 15-7-15All that lovely yarn! If you’re a fan of Ella Rae Lace Merino, you’ll know that here in Australia it retails for around $30 a skein. At Sheep Thrills it’s only $20 and they have a fantastic range of colours too.

Ella Rae Lace Merino 01Ella Rae Lace Merino 02Ella Rae Lace Merino 03I bought a skein in a colour I don’t usually buy as it is quite eye catching.

Ella Rae Lace Merino # 208I’ve also started knitting another scarf using some lovely yarn from The Fibre Company called Road to China (which is a 65% Baby Alpaca, 15% Silk, 10% Camel, 10% Cashmere blend) and I think I’m going to be short a ball so I found this Eki Riva Sport which is a 100% baby alpaca yarn today and bought a couple of balls. I think it will be a nice contrast. It’s a little thicker but I’m hoping it won’t detract from the scarf as it will only be the top edge of the scarf where I’ll use the substitute yarn. Time will tell!!

Eki Riva Fawn 01Here it is against the Fiber Company Road to China yarn.

Eki Riva FawnHowever it turns out this scarf is going to be soooo soft!

That’s my news for today.

Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “A Star is Born!

  1. Congratulations! And your work is sooooooooooo beautiful. But what do you do with all your creations? That question is what keeps me from knitting more.

    Like

    • Hi Sharon, I keep most of them so I have every possible colour combination for my clothes. I also make gifts for family and friends plus I recently sold one of my Leftie scarves (the cream one) at our Open Day. I will probably make another one though as I did rather like it. I have lots of scrap sock yarn to do this 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

