Holiday Happenings

The last few days have simply flown by; I hope the next two weeks slow down a bit. I’ve met with wonderful friends, done lots of knitting, walked a lot, bought lots of wool and met some fantastic women at social knitting.

The weather has been perfect! Blue skies, lots of sun and very cold at times so needless to say I’ve been trying out all my scarves and socks. This morning was absolutely stunning as I walked to Sheep Thrills to partake in social knitting (the third time this week!!)

Noosaville 17-7-15 01The Noosa River looked absolutely gorgeous. It was a crisp and vigorous half an hour walk for me. That’s one way to warm up.

Noosaville 17-7-15 02This is where I normally sit and knit on the riverfront.

Noosaville 17-7-15 03Today I met a whole new group of women at Sheep Thrills. I love this little shop. It has such an inviting atmosphere and you’re instantly made to feel at home. You could say it’s now my ‘home away from home’.

Sheep Thrills 17-7-15.jpg 01Sheep Thrills 06Two women reconnecting with their craft so their table was relatively quiet as they concentrated on how to knit and crochet.

Sheep Thrills 17-7-15.jpg 02The glorious selection of yarns is to die for!!

Sheep Thrills 01Sheep Thrills 02Sheep Thrills 03Sheep Thrills 07Sheep Thrills 09As you know I love a yarn bargain so I just had to indulge in these yarns which were on sale for only $4 a ball!! These are Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran which is a 100% extrafine merino.

Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran Apricot 01Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran Brown 01I am going to use these balls to make a couple of In Threes baby cardigans.

Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran Navy 01Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Red 01Lotus Yarns Winter Sun GreenThese three balls of Lotus Yarns Miya will be used to knit a gorgeous lacy shawl or two with beads. This is a 2 ply / lace yarn and is made from 70% mink, 20% merino and 10% silk. It is wonderfully soft.

Lotus Yarns Miya Brown 02Lotus Yarns Miya TanAt Sheep Thrills there are gorgeous handmade throws and garments all around the rooms that are on display and for sale.

Sheep Thrills 05One the throws I saw was a C2C crocheted rug. Now I’ve heard a lot about C2C from the women of the QldBaysideYarnClub so I was intrigued. Leah told me about The Crochet Crowd tutorial video which I viewed and now I am really quite interested so I have earmarked the 20 balls of apricot and brown Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran yarn for this project. I am going to be busy!!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

Leave a Reply

