A Chunky Scarf, Baxter and a C2C Throw!

This little project took me only one night to complete. Granted it was knit on 9mm needles using Misti Alpaca Hand Paint Chunky yarn which is luxuriously soft as it’s a 100% baby alpaca.

Misti Alpaca Chunky 02The pattern is Misti Chunky Ribs & Ruffles Scarf and has lovely ruffled ends.

Misti Chunky Scarf 03This scarf has certainly kept out the bitingly cold wind which I experienced not long after my arrival at Noosaville.

Misti Chunky Scarf 02Another little project I completed not long ago is an adorable little bear from a gorgeous book called Knitted Toy Tales: Irresistible Characters for all Ages by Laura Long and it’s the Daddy Bear pattern. This book has the cutest little characters you can knit and they are all photographed beautifully. I have called my bear ‘Baxter’.

Knitted Toy Tales 01Baxter Bear 01These little bears are quite easy to make especially the face as the nose section is knitted separately and then sewn onto the face. And of course Baxter had to have a bright orange I-cord to match the accent colour in my bedroom as this is where he lives.

Baxter Bear 02The wool used to make Baxter was spun by someone else. I just plied, washed and skeined it. I recently bought another spinning wheel and two of the bobbins were filled to the brim with spun yarn which looked salvageable so rather than throw it away, I plied it. The yarn felt a bit coarse to be worn close to the skin so this teddy was the perfect project. He’s also stuffed with wool so he’s a 100% wool bear!

Spinning Wheel full bobbinsHere’s Baxter with the other two teddies I’ve made with a couple of sheep that wanted to get into the picture too 🙂

Three Bears 01While I was at Sheep Thrills last week, I noticed a lovely crocheted throw and when I asked about it I discovered it was a corner to corner (C2C) pattern. I was instantly intrigued so the next day I sat down in front of my laptop and watched Mikey from The Crochet Crowd explain how these blankets are made. I’m using the lovely Lotus Yarns Winter Sun Aran wool I bought and I am quite pleased with my progress.

C2C Throw 02Who’d have thought I’d put down my knitting for some crocheting!!

And to finish off, what do you think of this lovely large and orange carry bag I picked up at Noosaville? It’ll be perfect to accommodate my C2C throw as it grows larger and larger!

Orange bag 01

Until next time…

Melanie

 

6 thoughts on “A Chunky Scarf, Baxter and a C2C Throw!

  1. Love the colors in you new scarf. Cute pattern. Bear is adorable, wish I had one… I tend to knit more than crochet but the C2C is interesting. I found directions on youtube. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

