Croc-a-tail Scarves Galore!!!

I love a quick, easy knit that is functional and well used. Well this little scarf ticks all those boxes and more! I found this unusual pattern called the Croc-a-tail scarf on Ravelry and was instantly drawn to its simplicity. There are three sizes that you can make: skinny, wide or a combination of both. I’ve elected to only knit the skinny size at this stage as it fits in well with the quantity of yarn that I have used for each scarf.

And the best thing is: gauge does not really matter!! You can use any yarn and needles and you’ll end up with varying sized scarves. That’s my kind of knitting!

Here’s the first scarf made with this gorgeous hand-dyed (not by me) Bendigo Woollen Mills Classic 5ply wool that I purchased at this year’s Queensland Spinners & Weavers Open Day.

BWM 5ply 01Aren’t all those colours just so beautiful and vibrant?

Croc-a-tail Scarf 06While rummaging through my stash I found this lovely skein of Shorn Fibers Merino Sport in the colourway Rustic.

Shorn Fibers Rustic 01Sometimes yarn can sit in my stash for ages until suddenly a pattern appears that I just know will suit the yarn.

Croc-a-Tail Rustic Scarf 08I’ve even worn it using a lovely shawl pin (that I purchased from Shorn Fibers) and a small clip button (bought from Avon). These hold the scarf securely in place and safe from any strong breezes.

Croc-a-Tail Rustic Scarf 03When I visited New Zealand in April this year, I picked up a lovely skein of this gorgeous Touch Yarns 8ply Merino wool in Knit World Dunedin.

Touch Yarns 8plyDoesn’t it look fabulous as a scarf?

Croc-a-Tail Autumn 03And finally one of these squishy Skein Alpaca Merino Worsted skeins that I’ve had for a while also became a Croc-a-tail scarf.

Skein Alpaca Merino Worsted Wise 02It’s just so soft and comforting!

Croca-a-tail Wise 02These scarves are not too big and not too small and so easy to wear.

Croca-a-tail Wise 01Croc-a-tail Scarf 12Croc-a-Tail Autumn 06Croc-a-Tail Rustic Scarf 13And I’ve got another one on the needles at the moment too using this lovely is The Great Adirondack Yarn Company Silky Sock – colourway is Parakeet.

Great Adirondack Parakeet

It’ll be a very exciting Knit and Knatter this Saturday (8 August) for two reasons: one I haven’t seen my friends for a month as I’ve been away on holidays and two it’ll be held at the Redland Performing Arts Centre in conjunction with the Pacific Tides Festival which is an all day event filled with food, dance, arts and crafts and music. It should be a great day so if you’re in the area, drop in and join us πŸ™‚

Until next time…

Melanie

10 thoughts on “Croc-a-tail Scarves Galore!!!

    • Yes you are right. My friends know if I like something I make heaps of the garment πŸ™‚ One of my friends has started on these scarves too and she’s made a few. They are just so incredibly easy and great for knitting and talking as there’s no intricate pattern to keep an eye on πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Hi Melanie, I’ve just found you and what a sight for sore eyes your blog is. I live in Melbourne and have just learned to knit socks and am delving into the world of hand dyeing yarn. I’ve a spinning wheel and loom coming to me next April so am keen to learn all about what everyone else is doing. Your scarves look gorgeousl.
    Anne xx

    Like

    • Hi Anne, so glad you like my site. I love knitting socks as you’ll be able to see on my blog. I think I’m up to pair # 37 or 38. You’ll love spinning as I do. Finding the time to do everything is the tricky bit πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

