Cornucopia

This week’s post is going to be a bit of this and a bit of that; hence a cornucopia of items šŸ™‚

I have finally finished spinning 250g of some lovely tangerine merino and plied it with some undyed merino.

Ashford Tangerine 08I was hoping for a lovely candy cane effect once plied and it’s exactly what I got!

Ashford Tangerine 09In total I have 399g and 1,403 yards of wool to make something really lovely. I was thinking of a poncho so I need to find the right pattern.

Ashford Tangerine 12I’ve also been busy on my Addi Express Kingsize knitting machine making more beanies. This one is made using one ball of Lincraft Ecuador which is a 40% acrylic / 40% wool / 20% alpaca yarn. I really love this colour combination.

Ecuador BeanieThese two are for a friend and her daughter. Just made with a cheap acrylic but they’ll be easy to wash.

Kim and Breeanna beanies 11-10-15I experimented making this scarf using two balls of Lincraft Surroundings which is a 100% acrylic. You could easily add pompoms if you so desire.

Rainbow Brights Scarf 01I found this book on Ebay especially for the Kingsize machine so I bought it and will try out some of these patterns.

Addi Express knitting bookOn Saturday at Knit and Knatter I picked up these two rather cute little bowls with sheep on them. We meet at Hoya Garden Plaza which has a huge gift shop attached to it. You could spend hours looking around and everything is so different.

Sheep bowlsHave a look at this absolutely stunning yarn I’ve just received. It’s from Candy Apple Lane and I saw it on Facebook and was just captivated. Isn’t it stunning? They’re known as the home of bright yarns and you’d have to agree with that statement!

Candy Apple Lane 02 Candy Apple Lane 03 Candy Apple Lane 04Earlier this year when I sold my car and bought a new one, I kept the car seat covers. Even though they were nearly 17 years old they were genuine sheepskin so I thought I should be able to find a use for for them. Well that time has come and a couple of weeks ago I took them out of the plastic bags and started adapting them.

I now have a new chair pad on my outdoor spinning chair.

Outside spinning chair 01I washed another part and put it in the sun to dry and I’ll use this as a chair pad for my picnic chair.

Washed covers 01I’ll use this scrap piece for flick carding: the fluffy side on my lap and the skin side to flick card on.

Flick Carding LeatherPlus I have enough left over so when I eventually get a little dog she’ll have something to snuggle up on. That’s what I call recycling at its best!!

Last week I signed up as a test knitter for a gorgeous pair of socks called Promovendus. The pattern writer lives in The Netherlands. I must say I am loving these socks. It’s the first time I’ve used beads in socks. Here’s a sneak peek.

Promovendus Socks 06That’s all my bits and pieces for the time being šŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful week.

Until next time…

Melanie

 

Leave a Reply

