The Easiest Scarf Pattern Ever!!

I’ve made a few scarves over the last few years and I love it when I find really easy patterns as I tend to make quite a few from the pattern (remember the Minnie and the Croc-a-tail?).

Well I have now found a really simple knit and what is even better is that the scarf is actually symmetrical. It’s called the Melissa Scarf and I’ve made six already!!

The first two scarves are both made using two balls each of Moda Vera Garofano which is a 50% acrylic / 40% wool / 10% silk yarn and so very soft.

Melissa cream 012Melissa Orange 02MV Garofano CreamMV Garofano OrangeThe next two scarves were made using two balls each of Moda Vera Roloutte which is a 100% cotton.

Melissa Scarf Pink 01Melissa Scarf Khaki 01MV Roulotte Pink 02MV Roulotte Mocha 02This Melissa Scarf was made using two balls of Passioknit Outback Langley which is a 50% wool / 50% acrylic yarn. Love these interesting shades of blue and red.

Melissa Scarf Blue-Red 03Passioknit Outback Langley Rosella 02And lastly, this is the one I am most proud of as it’s knitted in my own handspun alpaca. A while ago one of my spinning group members gave me a bag of this very dirty alpaca that had quite a bit of vegetable matter (VM) in it. I wanted to experiment with combing wool so I managed to pick up these wool combs recently.

Wool Combs 03They weren’t the best combs to use as the tines were too far apart and a lot of the alpaca and VM just slipped through. But I persevered as it was a great learning exercise.

From all that dirty alpaca I managed to make these three skeins. My very first handspun effort.

Alpaca practise 03It’s very thick and thin which makes quite interesting to look at. After many washes it resulted in the most incredibly soft alpaca. Here is the rather long scarf I made…

Melissa Alpaca 03I am so pleased with the outcome! The main reason why this scarf is so easy to make is because it’s all done in garter stitch.

Melissa Alpaca 06Except for the first and the BO row, every row is the same. If you look at all the project notes in Ravelry you’ll find that some people cast on 6 or 7 stitches as opposed to the 5 in the pattern. This will make your scarf grow wider faster and I have used the 5, 6 and 7 cast on at the beginning of each row to give all the my scarves a slightly different look. But they are all symmetrical.

This pattern is perfect if you need to make a few gifts and don’t want to have to be looking at the pattern all the time. You will memorise it in minutes. It’s perfect for knitting and chatting. I have a small basket filled with yarn that I want to use for this pattern so I can simply finish one scarf and start the next. You won’t be disappointed!

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “The Easiest Scarf Pattern Ever!!

Leave a Reply

