Two more C2Cs!

Crocheting a C2C blanket is time consuming but so worth it once you admire the finished item. I made my first C2C back in July when I was in Noosaville and I’m now on my 4th one!

I am rather enamoured with this C2C baby blanket which took me less than three weeks to complete.

C2C Baby 05I used predominantly Cleckheaton Country Baby 4ply, and Patons Australia Feathersoft 4ply. I was lucky enough to have an array of colours available and I even have enough to make another one!

C2C Baby 04I added a crocheted edging and used a different colour for each side.

C2C Baby 06 C2C Baby 07I finished this C2C blanket last night. It was started in August so that’s not bad going considering it got quite large and heavy and consequently I had to finish it at home rather than as a portable project 🙂

C2C Autumn Acrylic 07I selected all my autumn shades of acrylic stash to try and get rid of them and I certainly used a lot. Had to use my recliner chair as a prop to try and give you an idea of the size. The blanket is folded in half in the picture below.

C2C Autumn Acrylic 08I managed to pick up six balls of this lovely variegated acrylic which I interspersed with solid colours.

Lincraft Double KnittingC2C Autumn Acrylic 10 C2C Autumn Acrylic 11I tried placing the blanket on my bed to give you a better idea of its size.

C2C Autumn Acrylic 13I’ve just started my 4th C2C using all my sock yarn scraps and believe me I have lots of them!

To finish off, one of my dear friends from the Redlands Spinners & Weavers gave me this beautiful pashmina.

Pashmina from Gillian 01It has come in very handy at work as the air conditioning in my office is like a freezer!

Pashmina from Gillian 02I recently bought these two gorgeous pin cushions from Vino Catz Handmade in Australia. They are beautifully made and very secure as fishing line is used to secure them. Very clever indeed!

Pin Cushion 01and this lovely little shoulder bag which can be used to hold your phone. I love searching the net for handmade Aussie wares.

Sheep phone bag 02Since joining the Australian Handspinners and Knitters Facebook group, I have been exposed to such wonderful fibre that is available for sale and have succumbed to some of it. Every Friday night Charly McCafferty (AKA Ixchel Bunny) showcases some of the most amazing blends of fibre. You have to be very quick to buy any as it’s first in, first served. Last Friday I managed to pick up these two Happy Tiger Bunny Tops – 100 gram tops $24 – A blend of Hemp, Suri, Silk, Eco Merino, Angora Bunny, Llama. The colourways are March Hare and Tweedledee.

Ixchel Bunny buy 01And the night before last I picked up two of these Cashmere Fling Tops – 100 gram tops $23 – A blend of Cashmere, Tencel, Bamboo and Glitzy Nylon. The colourways are Absinthe Fairy and Minions. Aren’t they simply stunning!

Ixchel Bunny Cashmere Fling Absinthe Fairy 01 Ixchel Bunny Cashmere Fling Minion 01I’m going to have to turn my phone off on Friday nights from now on as I am just too tempted!!

That’s all my news for now.

Before I finish I would like to extend my deepest sympathies to all those affected by the terrible Paris terrorist attacks that have sent shock waves around the world. Unfortunately terrorism is changing the world we now live in.

Paris tearsUntil next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Two more C2Cs!

  1. I love your blanket-the autumn one is so beautiful-I love the colors! I would never have thought of making each side of the border of the baby blanket a different color-it turned out so cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

