This and that

Remember a few weeks ago I showed you how I completely revamped the top of a second hand stool?

Chair 02-tileWell, I have now completed the table too. This was the top of the original table which looked okay but it was flaking terribly underneath and leaving a mess whenever I moved it.

Table 01So, on a recent trip to one of the cheap shops I found this carving board.

Table 02I could not have picked a better item for this table top. I have actually used the top of the carving board as the underside of the table. Have a look at the groove all around the board which is where the fat is supposed to pool as you’re carving your meat.

Table 04Now have a look at how precisely the frame of the table actually sits in the groove at each end. Perfect isn’t it?

Table 06And here it is.

Table 07Another little project completed 🙂

Table 09I’ve also been churning out lots of hats on my Addi Kingsize knitting machine and have recently learned a new technique for a brim which entails lifting and hooking stitches over the needles. A crochet hook is not the right implement to use and I noticed on the video that the person was actually using a dental implement so I hopped onto Ebay (what else?) and found this kit for less than $7.

Dental kit 04I was particularly interested in this instrument.

Dental kit 05So now I can pick up the stitches with relative ease. I’m still not 100% satisfied as the other end of the instrument is pretty sharp so I am thinking about getting a woodturner to make me something similar. This is what I use it for.

Dental kit AddiOpp shops I love them!! You never know what you’re going to find. These are the goodies I found last week. Another sheep and sheep mug 🙂

Blue sheep and mugHow many toy sheep and sheep mugs can a girl have? Obviously, in my case, as many as she can get 🙂

Sheep mug sunglasses 01Blue sheep 02This next find is something I’ve been after for a while. As I don’t have a live model for my baby hats the next best thing is a doll so I found ‘Annabelle’ and she’s now my resident model for some of my baby garments.

AnnabelleHere’s a selection of pictures of Annabelle modelling some of my knitted baby hats.

Medallion Hat Red 08-tileThese delightful sheep earrings caught my attention as I was searching through Etsy recently. They’re made in Gympie in Queensland by a very talented artisan.

Sheep earringsLast week I picked up this bargain on Gumtree for only $40. It’s a Schacht Inkle Loom. Not that I know how to use it at the moment but weaving is something I want to learn in the not too distant future.

Schacht Inkle Loom 02Schacht Inkle Loom 03And then to top it off I received a message from local crafty person who had a bundle of old Weaving magazines and rather than just throwing them away would I like them? Luckily the pick up address was very close to where I was meeting some other crafty women of the QldBaysideYarnClub at Tingalpa. These will make some interesting reading. Thank you so much Rosalie!

Weaving magsI think I have exhausted my list of recent finds and ideas so I will leave it there. Now off for a cuppa, read the Sunday paper and then to spin some more of this drum-carded alpaca.

Alpaca Rebel 7Drum Carder 08

Until next time…

Melanie

 

 

Leave a Reply

