Down the Hourglass Socks

I was lurking in Ravelry’s Free Pattern Testers forum a while ago and was drawn to these socks as there was a cuff down option plus written instructions. I love starting a brand new pair of socks so I can watch the pattern emerge on the leg and these socks were no exception.

Down the Hourglass 01The pattern has lots of front/back crosses and front/back twist cabling which meant at times I was juggling six DPNs!

Down the Hourglass 12Down the Hourglass 09This pattern is better suited for solid or lightly tonal yarn to show off the detail of the pattern, which may get lost in a heavy variegated yarn. Ages ago I bought two skeins of sock yarn from Yarn Haus called Suzy Hausfrau Sock. It’s 80% merino / 10% cashmere / 10% nylon and really suits this pattern.

Suzy Hausfrau CamelThis was an enjoyable knit although I must confess for the first time ever I suffered a bit of second sock syndrome as I wasn’t looking forward to all those twisty cables again šŸ™‚ The end result is so worth it.

Down the Hourglass 05Down the Hourglass 11The heel fits nice and snuggly…

Down the Hourglass 10Now I just need to wait until winter so I can wear them!

Down the Hourglass 07Down the Hourglass 08Down the Hourglass 04I have just finished spinning, plying and washing this beautiful Ixchel Bunny Cashmere Fling Top which is a blend of cashmere, tencel, bamboo and glitzy nylon. This colourway is Minions and it’s plied with blue rayon.

Ixchel Minions 07And these rather nifty tools arrived in the mail last week. Can’t wait to start using them…

ToolsPlus this pair of sock blockers.

Sock blockersThey’re all from Gympie in Queensland and can be purchased from Lumigrafika on Etsy. I love sourcing goodies from local suppliers. They’re all so talented!

Last week I received an email from a work friend who wanted me to drop into her office at lunch time as she had something for me šŸ™‚

This gorgeous little tin which opens with a zip and features sheep on each side – of course šŸ™‚ It seems my friends are on the look out for sheepy things for me šŸ™‚

Sheep tinAnd lastly, this little sheep hopped into my arms as I was browsing in an Opp Shop at lunch time.

Opp shop sheepHow could I not take her home? She’s just too sweet šŸ™‚

One more photo of those lovely socks…

Down the Hourglass 02That’s my news for now. I wish everyone of you a wonderful Christmas day. Please stay safe and here’s to a 2016 filled with fun, fibre, frivolity and of course yarning!!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

12 thoughts on “Down the Hourglass Socks

  1. Your socks are beautiful! Each time I see another pair of socks I am blown away with the details in them. Great job! Love your little sheep!Awwwww-so cute.
    Merry Christmas and very happy new year!

    Like

  2. Fabulous socks! I’d be happy to wear them for you to test them out, as our winter is here now! Merry Christmas greetings from the shores of the Chesapeake Bay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

