MelsNattyKnits 2015 in review

Happy New Year everyone! I hope your 2016 is filled with health, happiness, good fortune plus lots of fun and fibre!

I received this email from WordPress so thought I’d build onto it and give you my year in mosaics.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for my blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 57,000 times in 2015. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 21 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

I have also made some monthly mosaics so you can see what I got up to each month 🙂

January 2015 –  I found this lovely ‘Revenge’ spinning chair which I absolutely adore; it is so comfortable; spun this lovely merino/silk blend; bought another toy sheep or in this case a doorstop sheep; made two Leftie scarves; wrote a blog post about my love of the colour orange 🙂 ; picked up a nifty CD set of drawers and now use it as a craft bit and pieces storage unit and of course, bought my beautiful Techno Orange Kia Sportage 🙂

January 2015February 2015 – a scarf and hat knitted with my handspun; a quick Ruffles Cowl; spinning on my Brian Vincent Nancy wheel; Lealt socks; plus a review of some of my favourite yarn suppliers.

February 2015March 2015 – a blog post about my love of Autumn shades (I had fun putting this one together); some cute little sewing kits; how I discovered Earth & Stones Creations’ pottery yarn bowls (made here in Brisbane!); an easy knitted drawstring bag and some more yarn purchases.

March 2015April 2015 – my wonderful cruise to New Zealand where I met Mary Knox and spent the day with her and the Wairarapa Spinners and Weavers; visited the Agrodome; and bought lots of New Zealand wool!

April 2015May 2015 – was gifted this Ashford Traditional double drive spinning wheel and some carded wool; brought this lazy kate back to life; another handspun scarf finished; Miss Winkle scarf for my sister; a beautiful green scarf bought in New Zealand and a book purchase.

May 2015June 2015 – The Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day and a small selection of the goodies I bought! My Happy Feet socks made with wool I bought in New Zealand.

June 2015July 2015 – my annual sojourn to Noosaville where I bought this cute little sheep; spent lots of time sitting on the banks of the Noosa River knitting; visited Sheep Thrills yarn shop (which unfortunately has now closed); finally finished my Wavy Leaves and Butterflies shawl; knitted a Misti Alpaca Chunky scarf; made Baxter the Bear and featured in the Wynnum Herald!

July 2015August 2015 – Two more Miss Winkles done; absolutely love this Margarita hat (I am definitely going to make another one); went mad at the Spotlight sales; also went mad knitting Croc-a-tail scarves 🙂

August 2015September 2015 – discovered the delights of owning an Addi Kingsize knitting machine – made lots of beanies which I intend to give to the homeless/needy this winter; made these gorgeous Bark Socks; attended the Redlands Spinners & Weavers September camp and had the most enjoyable time; another sheep mug 🙂

September 2015October 2015 – my first ever Ravelry pattern test knit – Promovendus socks with beads; made a few Melissa scarves; spun this lovely orange and white merino and plied it together; made two In Threes cardigans

October 2015November 2015 – did lots of sorting in my stash room and renovated this table and stool; picked up more toy sheep and sheep mugs; bought these lovely sheep earrings; picked up this Schacht Inkle Loom; finished two C2C blankets; started buying Ixchel Bunny Fibres on the Friday night blog release; knitted a couple of baby hats

November 2015December 2015 – a review of some of my Zen Yarn Garden purchases; more toy sheep; another pattern test knit – Down the Hourglass Socks; March Hare shawl knitted from my own handspun yarn; my custom made tool for my Addi knitting machine made by the Lair of the Bearded Dragon; my first attempt at inkle weaving

December 20152015 was certainly a busy year for me in terms of spinning, knitting and buying more stash as well as adding to my collection of sheep mugs and toy sheep. I wonder what 2016 will bring???

Until next time…

Melanie

 

8 thoughts on “MelsNattyKnits 2015 in review

  1. Hi Mel Loved your new post – so beautifully displayed and organized. It’s always fun to see what you come up with, have you thought about opening a shop for all your “stuff. Have been asked to make beanies for grandson and his girlfriend’s trip to UK – seem to have heaps of beanie patterns, but want them to be special and nice, in your huge pattern library, would you have anything I could borrow, please. You do usually seem to come up with good ideas. Also, could you make a note for the next newsletter that Sept camp, this year, is a week later, 16th – 18th. We’ll need to keep stressing it as it is never this weekend, and you know how long it takes to ink in with some people. Thanks again Happy New year, hope it’s a great one for you! Maybe you will have visitors come to stay and they will need to use your bathroom!!!! Love Jan Date: Fri, 1 Jan 2016 03:46:07 +0000 To: arfnjan@hotmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

