Lelly Poncho/Shawl

I’m a great fan of Martina Behm‘s patterns which can all be found on Ravelry. They’re so easy to knit as each pattern is usually just a lot of garter stitch with some interesting edging and designs. Lelly caught my eye as it can be worn a couple of ways; as a poncho-style shawl and as a scarf/cowl. Martina used a 4ply alpaca for her garment so I rummaged through my stash and found 2 x 50g balls of this House of Alpaca 4ply in a lovely shade of copper.

Lelly 01The pattern calls for 2.5mm needles so it was like knitting another pair of socks! Although i am happy with the end result, I felt my garment is smaller than Martina’s. As you know, I never knit tension squares. Maybe I should have!

Lelly 02I really love the concept of this pattern. This little poncho styled shawl will be ideal in my office as it’ll keep the chill of the air conditioning off my shoulders and back. It also has a lovely eyelet edge.

Lelly 03Lelly 04It can easily be adapted to be worn as a scarf.

Lelly 05This is the shape of the finished garment. Trust me, I did some very hard blocking to get it to this size. If I make another one, I will use larger needles or even 5 or 8ply wool.

Lelly 06If it’s really cold you could wrap the shawl closely around your neck.

Lelly 07Or you could just slip your neck through the slit and let it hang like a cowl. Very versatile indeed!

Lelly 08I would highly recommend Martina’s designs as they’re well written and easy to knit: ideal for beginners. I have made quite a few of her garments.

And now for something very exciting: Maleny, which is a small, scenic town 90 kilometres north of Brisbane on the Blackall Range overlooking the Sunshine Coast hinterland in Queensland, Australia, is holding a KnitFest in June this year!! There is a KnitFest Facebook page you can like too.

knitfest_banner_1170x150pxKnitfest-knitting-classes-poster-724x1024That is going to be a fun weekend indeed!! I have my accommodation booked 🙂

Now to a couple of recent yarn purchases.

The 21st offering in the Zen Yarn Garden ART WALK Series features a painting by Monica Stewart entitled “Rejoice”. From one medium to the next, artists express their use of colour. Inspired by the chosen art piece, Zen Yarn Garden’s dyer has successfully captured the excitement and complexity of the painting.

21 ZYG Rejoice 05I love the shades of gold and brown in this yarn and can’t wait to make something special!

21 ZYG Rejoice 07Monica Stewart’s fluid, earthy works joyously depict women of color dancing and celebrating life as a modern expression of culture and sisterhood. Previously working in vibrant pastels, Stewart has reduced her palette by working with a material made from Egyptian palm fronds, their natural textures, and rich tans and browns enhance her work’s ethnic feel. Nationally recognized, Stewart’s art has been featured in movies, on TV shows and in a line of family record books, journals, and photo albums. [quoted from Art.com]

21 ZYG Rejoice imageI purchased two skeins of Serenity Glitter Sock which is a 80% superwash merino / 10% cashmere / 10% sparkling nylon yarn.

A blog I really enjoy reading is by Wei Siew Leong who is from New Zealand and writes under the name Kiwiyarns Knits. Her writing is beautiful and lots of her stories revolve around New Zealand’s stunningly gorgeous yarns. In one of her recent posts, she showed us some beautiful yarn purchased from an Aussie hand-dyer Circus Tonic Handmade. Now, I’m not usually a purchaser of pink coloured yarn but for some reason this colour really captivated me. Perhaps it was Wei Siew’s description of it “pretty, feminine yarn, with the barest hint of blush”.

You guessed it, I just had to have a sneaky peek at Circus Tonic Handmade‘s Etsy shop to check out her yarns which resulted in the purchase of these two beautiful skeins.of Revelry Sock Fingering 4ply. This one is called Frilled Monarch.

Circus Tonic Frilled Monarch 01Circus Tonic Frilled Monarch 02And this one is called Galah. Doesn’t it look so delicate and fragile?

Circus Tonic Galah 01Circus Tonic Galah 02My package arrived last week and I must say the wool is so incredibly and deliciously soft and luxurious. MMmmmm what can I knit? Definitely something that wraps around my neck 🙂

That’s my news for now. Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Lelly Poncho/Shawl

  1. Love the poncho/scarf, concept & colour. But I really dislike blocking any of my garments hard.
    Lucky you to live so close to Maleny, sounds like it will be wonderful.
    Such a variety of colours in your yarn choices this time 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

