Moriarty Socks – Pair # 49

Another ‘single lady’ off the needles which completes another sock test pattern knit! These lovely socks are called Moriarty Socks.

This pattern is inspired by Moriarty, the clever nemesis of Sherlock Holmes. The design features a dropped stitch pattern down the front of the leg and top of the foot and simple ribbing down the back of the leg and top half of the short row heel. This stitch pattern combined with the ribbing makes a very stretchy sock. I found it a very easy pattern to memorise and one that I may even use in future socks.

Moriarty Socks 01This pattern used the short row heel which I struggled with initially despite the fact that it’s probably easier than the traditional heel flap. I think I am just so used to picking up those stitches on either side of the flap that I find any else challenging!

Moriarty Socks 02The yarn I used is from the very first sock yarn club I subscribed to run by Dyed by Hand Yarns. The colours of each sock yarn were based on something uniquely Australian. In this case, the colourway is called Happy Wanderer.

Dyed by Hand Yarns Happy Wanderer 02-tileI might add the 2016 Sock Yarn Club has just opened and this year’s theme is Bush Tucker โ€“ย colours inspired by the native bush foods of Australia.

I love the colours in this sock yarn; the olivey green with the splash of mauve.

Moriarty Socks 03 Moriarty Socks 04Dana Gervais is a fantastic pattern writer. This is the second pattern I’ve tested for her and I love both of them. They’re so well presented and easy to follow. The first were the gorgeous River Song Socks.

Moriarty Socks 05 Moriarty Socks 06I picked up some lovely Misti Alpaca Hand Paint sock yarn from a destashing knitter on Facebook last week for $15 each. This yarn is a luscious combination of 50% alpaca / 30% merino / 10% silk / 10% nylon.

Misti Alpaca Hand Paint 4ply Columbia Misti Alpaca Hand Paint 4ply Queen Royal BlueMisti Alpaca Hand Paint 4ply EiffelPlus these two balls of Naturally Waikiwi sock yarn in this bright purple for $5 each. It’s not normally a colour I would buy but quite often some sock patterns look better in a solid colour to really show off the pattern so these will be kept for that purpose.

Naturally Waikiki PurpleThat’s my news for now ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m off to remove another woven scarf from my 30cm Ashford Knitter’s Loom. I’ve been doing tons of spinning and weaving lately which I will show you in due course ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Moriarty Socks – Pair # 49

  1. Those are beautiful socks and I also love the new yarns you purchased. I would love to buy new, but am holding off until more of the stash is used up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

