Just Because Socks – Pair # 50

I’ve finally finished the last ‘single lady’ which completes my four sock pattern test knits that I started on 22 February. Phew! Now I’ll be able to concentrate on other projects. These beautiful socks – Just Because – are particularly unusual because they have a smattering of beads on either side of the leg.

Just Because Socks 09 Just Because Socks 13The patterning is simply beautiful. This sock is worked top-down and combines slipped stitches, a simple lace pattern and either beads for a bit of sparkle (on the leg only), small bobbles if bling isn’t your thing or simple purl stitches if you don’t want the texture of the bobbles. The pattern dips into the heel flap to give it a bit of flair, and the lace pattern gives the finished product a nice stretch.

Just Because Socks 10 Just Because Socks 14 Just Because Socks 15It simply amazes me how some people have the knack of visualising a pattern from a chart. Where do they come up with these wonderful ideas?? Normally, I’m not a chart user but for some reason I’ve been using the charts on all my sock test pattern knits where they’ve been provided. It may have something to do with the fact socks are so small so there’s not too much repetition of the pattern. And the charts are not too big either. Some of those charts for shawls just do my head in 🙂

Just Because Socks 11 Just Because Socks 18The yarn I used is Sweet Georgia BFL Sock in this lovely shade called ‘Pumpkin’.

Sweet Georgia 4ply Orange 01I found the beads at my local discount store for $3.95 a packet!

Beads 03Now, all I need is for the weather to actually turn cooler so I can wear them! We’re half way through autumn here in Brisbane and it’s still 31 degrees Celsius today!

Just Because Socks 12 Just Because Socks 16Until next time…

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Just Because Socks – Pair # 50

Leave a Reply

