A Mini Getaway

I’ve just come home from a four day mini getaway in the Redcliffe area which is north of Brisbane.  Last Monday and Tuesday I attended beginner/advanced weaving workshops where I learned quite a few new techniques so I can now add a bit more interest to my weaving projects. If you live in the Brisbane area, I would highly recommended these workshops. Lindy is an Ashford agent and knows all about spinning, weaving, knitting and a multitude of other crafts. She holds these workshops regularly so you can send her an email to book a spot.

We each made a sampler over the two days which displayed all the different techniques.

Weaving sampler scarf

Not the best colours to mix and match but as it’s just a sampler and not for wearing I am happy with the results 🙂

As an aside, my son visited me last weekend and I showed him some of my woven scarves when he asked whether I could make a man’s one for him. Now, that was the last thing I’d expected to come out of his mouth. I just didn’t think he’d want to wear a scarf. So I said to him ‘what about this grey one with the black stripe’ and he immediately put it on and claimed it. I gave him strict instructions about hand washing the scarf too 🙂

Richard 17-4-16 with Mums scarfI stayed in a motel in Margate for the three nights and had a wonderful time walking along the waterfront from Margate to Redcliffe. For those of you who live in the Redcliffe area you are so lucky to have this lovely waterfront. This is Margate Beach.

Margate Beach 01Imagine waking up to that lovely sight every morning!

In Redcliffe I visited the very famous Bee Gees Way which is a wonderful tribute to the brothers Gibb.

Bee Gees Way 27I took a stack more photos which you can view here.

And of course, you didn’t think I would visit a new area and not check out the Opp Shops!! Margate has a cluster of these shops within walking distance of each other so I visited each one (and some of them twice!). Here are my bargain buys.

This gorgeous knitting mug for $1…

Knitting Mug 1-tileHow’s this for a rocking sheep! I was amazed these items are actually made let alone me finding one for $6.

Rocking SheepAnother little sheep to add to my collection…

NZ Sheep

I was also given these six beautifully hand made coasters by Pam, a member of the Redcliffe Spinners & Weavers. Aren’t they beautiful?

Sheep coasters fabric

Along the foreshore at Redcliffe there are lots of eateries which were a welcome sight after my rather long hot walk from Margate. This was my view from one of the coffee shops.

Redcliffe coffee shop

There is something about being near the water which instantly calms me. I would love to one day own a home right on the waterfront so I could hear the gentle lapping of the waves as I did at Margate. I also spent over an hour sitting on the jetty at Redcliffe peacefully doing some knitting.

On the Thursday, I attended the Redcliffe Spinners & Weavers Friendship Day which was lots of fun and has geared me up for the Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day on 21 June. I was also given this lovely plate from my friend Gillian who spotted it at a second hand shop recently.

Shearer Plate

And on Friday night at another regular crafty gathering with two others, my friend Stephanie gave me this sheep mug she’d found in an Opp Shop.

Sheep Mug side 1-tile

Isn’t it stunning? Every sheep on the mug is different. It’s probably the most unusual mug in my burgeoning collection 🙂 I’m very lucky to have this mug as it’s from Scotland as can be seen by the logo under the mug.

Sheep Mug bottom

And to finish off, even though this isn’t sheep related, I did find this rather lovely bag for only $4.

Striped bag

So, all in all, it was a lovely quick getaway to an area of Brisbane that is less than an hour’s drive from my place but I never seem to get there.

Now, it’s time to get back to some more weaving, spinning and knitting 🙂

Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “A Mini Getaway

  1. What beautiful scarves! Your son looks so happy with his too! I just knew it!! You would find some sheep-I always look forward to seeing those! And great pictures. What a nice “mini vacation”!

    Like

  2. What a happy scarf picture, and what a lovely mini-holiday!
    I have that same sheep mug – bought years ago in Cambridge, England, when visiting my daughter who was studying there. They are wonderful. Her designs appear on cards too – there’s a ballet one, and a horse-riding one, and somewhere I’ve got one of different sorts of undies that I’ve never had the nerve to send to anyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

