The Yarnit

Not long ago I was approached by Kate Sullivan, the inventor of the brilliant The Yarnit, which is a clean, protective and portable home for your project yarn, asking me whether I’d like to review her product. You bet I would! I’m a great believer and collector of knitting knick knacks and I love anything that enhances my knitting experience.

I have my gorgeous pottery yarn bowls which I use at home but I also happen to do a lot of knitting out of my home: at cafes, at the park or at friends’ homes and that is why I am really excited about The Yarnit.

This brilliant yarn holder is extremely versatile. I love the portability of The Yarnit and the fact I can attach the strap to The Yarnit and carry it with me keeping both hands free for knitting!The Yarnit(Photo from The Yarnit website)

The Yarnit also sits comfortably in your vehicle’s cup holder while you’re waiting for your kids to finish their sports training or you’re held up in bumper to bumper traffic that’s at a standstill or while you’re waiting for that plane to arrive or depart 🙂

The Yarnit 03(Photo from The Yarnit website)

Now there is no fear of your ball of yarn dropping onto a dirty floor or being attacked by your pets as it sits beautifully in the unbreakable, high quality plastic globe.

There’s a range of gorgeous colours and decals you can select from too 🙂

This range is called Mr Sparkles; I have the green one 🙂

The Yarnit 04(Photo from The Yarnit website)

How about The Manly?

The Yarnit 05(Photo from The Yarnit website)

Or Lavender Haze? I know my friend Rona will love this colour 🙂

The Yarnit 06(Photo from The Yarnit website)

Or I Pink I Can in support of Breast Cancer awareness?

The Yarnit 07(Photo from The Yarnit website)

You can find lots more designs on The Yarnit website.

While I was assembling my Yarnit, I was rather impressed with this very clever idea; it’s a locking plug so there’s no way your Yarnit will unscrew.

The Yarnit 05There are three parts to the Yarnit; the top, the lower bowl and the base. The top and lower hemispheres of the globe easily twist apart for you to put your yarn ball or cake inside.

Connect the upper globe to the lower globe by positioning the upper part with one of the portholes a little to the left of a porthole on the lower globe.

Now you just need to feed your yarn through your choice of one of the three portholes and simply twist it closed.

When both portholes have lined up completely to make a full and complete circle you are good to go. To open it twist in reverse.

Changing your yarn is equally as easy and just as quick.

When taking a break, dock your needles in the slots in the top of the globe where your stitches and needles now sit protected and safely awaiting your return.

The base is made of a quality material that will hold tight on most surfaces without ever doing damage. It also has a storage well where you can keep your stitch markers, darning needles and scissors. I really love this feature.

The Yarnit 06 The Yarnit 07When not in use, the Yarnit nests within itself nice and neat and easy to transport or store. It’s ideal to sit on top of a table so your project is always in sight encouraging you not to start another one. 

But then, who says you can’t have more than one Yarnit? I mean there are so many to choose from!

Here’s a short YouTube video from fans of The Yarnit.

I took my Yarnit to a cafe on Friday night and yesterday it went to the QldBaysideYarn Club‘s monthly gathering which also happened to be Worldwide Knit in Public Day. I must say I was impressed with how easily the yarn slid out of the porthole.

The Yarnit 11You could say, I really love my Yarnit and it’ll be getting lots of use!

The Yarnit 01 The Yarnit 08

There is a larger Yarnit in the pipeline called The Big Sully. This will be great for my larger cakes of handspun yarn.

Now we just need some enterprising Australian yarn shops to start stocking The Yarnit to give all Aussie knitters ease of access 🙂

Please leave comments if you’d like to see The Yarnit in Australia.

Until next time…

Melanie

PS The Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day is on again on Tuesday, 21 June at ther Redland Performing Arts Centre in Cleveland. If you’re into fibre and yarn and live nearby, you must attend!

RPAC_2016_Spinners_Weavers_DL_WEB_Page_1 RPAC_2016_Spinners_Weavers_DL_WEB_Page_2


 

 

14 thoughts on “The Yarnit

  1. Those are really nice, and very practical! But what I most wish is that there wasn’t an ocean between me and your open day. It looks really really interesting – all the best for it!

    Like

  2. This is such a wonderful idea!! I love the little storage container under the ball at the base!! the fact it is so versatile and at the same time small enough -you can take it everywhere!!!! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

