Our Open Day Wrap Up

Another hugely successful Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day was held on Tuesday, 21 June 2016. I was absolutely exhausted by the end of the day as were the other members but it was so worth it as it was such a wonderful day 🙂  A huge thanks to Redland City Council and Redland Performing Arts Centre for providing us with the magnificent venue to hold our Open Day. It has certainly put the Centre and our group ‘on the map’ in the spinning and fibre world in south east Queensland.

Traders tables 04We are so blessed to have such talented traders who make and sell such an array of beautiful wares.

Lindy with all her Ashford goods and hand dyed yarns and knitting accessories.

Traders tables 05Beautifully hand sewn items from Desley. Every year I buy up big from Desley as I love her goodies.

Traders tables 03

The incredibly talented Kimberly from Earth & Stone Creations. As you know I am a massive fan of Kimberly’s work, in particular her yarn bowls and sheep-inspired pottery wares.

Earth and Stone Creations 02 Earth and Stone Creations 03For the second year in a row, Kimberly brought along a real statement piece: this four sectioned massive yarn bowl and it sold!!

Earth and Stone Creations 01VivianneK Handmade Soaps are the only soaps I use as well as her lip balms. I actually bought some for my Mum too. Vivianne produces a top class product and can be justifiably proud of her soaps and lotions. The array is simply amazing.

ViviannK Handmade Soaps 01 ViviannK Handmade Soaps 02Angela from Shorn Fibers brought along her beautifully dyed yarns to tempt us.

Shorn Fibers 01 Shorn Fibers 02And, of course, it wouldn’t be same without Owen and a selection of his antique spinning wheels.

Owens Antique Wheels 01

This is just a snapshot of our traders; there are just so many to feature.

I must also thank Robyn from the Booie Spinners and Weavers (Kingaroy) for introducing herself to me and thanking me for all my efforts on the Redlands Spinners & Weavers FB page. It was lovely to meet you and I really appreciated that you took the effort to seek me out.

Also, many thanks to Jo Crang for introducing herself to me too. Jo is a member of the Australian Handspinners and Knitters FB page and lives on the Sunshine Coast. I’ll definitely be touching base with you when I’m on holidays in Noosaville in a couple of weeks time 🙂

Now to show you just some of my purchases 🙂

This stunning alpaca scarf for only $12!! There’s a lot of knitting that’s gone into this scarf.

Alpaca scarfThree face washers with machine embroidered sheep!
Face washersHanging hand towels with machine embroidered sheep.
Hand towelsAnother one of Kimberly’s pottery yarn bowls but this one is my largest one.
Large yarn bowl 01

I just adore the colours 🙂

Large yarn bowl 03

Two mug bags with sheep emblems. I use these to take my sheep mug to spinning group. There’s a section in each bag for your teaspoon and tea bag 😉

Mug bagsA peg bag with a cute little sheep. I won’t be using it for pegs but will use it inside. Haven’t decided yet what I will use it for but it was much too cute to leave behind.
Peg bagSome recycled Sari silk for weaving projects.
Recycled sari silk

A lovely little sheep pot plant bowl but I will probably use this to store crochet hooks (I’ll just cover the hold in the base with some fabric).

Sheep plant bowl 03

Another one of Desley’s very cleverly made sheep shopping bags 🙂 I love this one!

Shopping bagThis tea towel and only because it has a spinning wheel on it.
T towelSome lovely green Ashford Tekapo 4ply wool.
Tekapo 4plyAnd some of Lindy’s amazing dyed wool.
Wool

I bought lots of other little bits and pieces but if I showed you everything you’d be reading this blog post for most of the day 🙂

I was very lucky to sell a few garments that I had for sale on the day. These two were in the fashion parade and both sold.

Wavy Leaves Shawl 07Daleks Age Brass Steam 02

I also sold a few more smaller items so it was a great day for me as my sales were higher than my expenses!!

I am now eagerly awaiting my yearly trip to Noosaville where I’ll spend three weeks just relaxing, knitting, eating, drinking coffee, meeting friends and basically doing as I wish. I’ll also be touching base with some of the local spinners and knitters too which will be exciting.

The next couple of weeks will be spent decided what projects to take with me because, heaven forbid, I’d hate to run out of projects while I’m up there!!

Until next time…

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Our Open Day Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

