Liquorice Allsorts Shawl

When I first bought four skeins of this incredibly colourful wool I wondered what I’d make with it.

Liquorice Allsorts 01I knew that one day the right pattern would present itself so when I found the Multicolor Shawl pattern on Ravelry, I knew I had hit the jackpot! I managed to pick it up when it was free but it’s not a very expensive pattern anyway. If you do happen to have this pattern, please note that I found a few errors which are located on the Ravelry page for the pattern. Once these errors were sorted out, it was an easy knit.

Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 03Quite a riot of colour don’t you think?

Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 04I particularly love the edging which is basically a lot of YOs in one row and then on the following row about nine stitches are knitted/purled which makes the holes.

Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 12 Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 13

Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 08 Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 11This wool from Candy Apple Lane is actually Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxiry 8ply and it’s beautiful to use.

Because this is an 8ply wool and 4.5mm needles are used, it makes a lovely generous shawl. The placement of the increases also creates a shawl that sits very comfortably on your shoulders without slipping off.

Licquorice Allsorts Shawl 02

I would highly recommend this pattern but bear in mind you will need quite a bit of yarn. My shawl took just over 200g of 8ply wool. I am now planning my second one using a lot of Cleckheaton Country 8ply that I have amassed.

Cleckheaton Country Burnt Mix 01

Yesterday I arrived at Noosavile for my annual holidays. I love this place!! Here’s a picture of what I look onto every day šŸ™‚

Noosa River 9-7-16So you can expect a lot more photos like this for the next couple of weeks šŸ™‚

Until next time…

Melanie

 

3 thoughts on “Liquorice Allsorts Shawl

Leave a Reply

