Spinning Tales and Wheels

You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been blogging about any knitted garments recently and that’s because I’ve been quite busy spinning. Yes, I’m in the spinning mood and have four wheels on the go with different spinning projects. Plus, of course, I do have a number of knitting projects on the go too!

I’ve recently finished this Ixchel Bunny Fibres‘ blend called Don’t You Want Me Baby. It’s plied with a beautiful gold metallic thread and I’ve made a gorgeous shawl with this yarn which I’ll show you very soon.

Dont You Want Me Baby 01 Dont You Want Me Baby 03This stunning Ixchel Bunny Fibres’ blend called Peacock in a Pear Tree is currently on my Sickinger wheel. I love the glitz that Charly adds to her blends as they make each spinning project ‘pop’.

Peacock in a Pear Tree 01I recently sold this Black Bunny Tops from Ixchel Bunny Fibres to a friend who is going to use it in a weaving project. It’s plied with a grey thread.

Black Bunny Tops Silver Grey 01This is 100% merino in the colourway Desert.

Desert 01I absolutely love this Ixchel Bunny FibresMagic Bunny blend!

Ixchel Blue Green Apricot 076And here it is plied, skeined and in a cake 🙂

Ixchel Blue Green Apricot 01 I’m knitting a shawl with this beautiful rainbow blend. I’ve had to take a few photos so you can see all the lovely colours.

Rainbow 05Rainbow 01 Rainbow 02 This next colourway is not usually one I would select, however, the red and orange were so vibrant I couldn’t resist. It’s another Ixchel Bunny Fibres‘ blend called Sunset on Mars.

Sunset on Mars 01Sunset on Mars 02I had a sliver of red merino so I spun it and plied it with the Sunset on Mars and it looks a treat!

Sunset on Mars 05 Sunset on Mars 06Stunning isn’t it?

Sunset on Mars 13 Sunset on Mars 16So as you can see, even though I haven’t been showing you many knitted garments lately, I certainly haven’t been idle 🙂

I’ve also been visiting the Opp Shops a bit and managed to acquire a few more goodies which I’ll show you soon plus I’ve just picked up another two spinning wheels. One is an Ashford Traveller. I sold my previous one but when I saw this one on Gumtree for $50 I couldn’t resist. It came with some books and the red sliver of merino. It’s just missing two bobbins which I can easily pick up 🙂

Ashford Traveller 06 Ashford Traveller 07 Ashford Traveller 08The other spinning wheel I picked up is a Sleeping Beauty Thumbelina but I need to get a part made before it is functional.

Well that’s all my news for now!

Until next time…

Melanie

 

 

8 thoughts on “Spinning Tales and Wheels

  1. Your work is lovely Mel. I like seeing all your wheels too.
    Was wondering with the plying you do with commercial yarn do you spin the fibre S?
    I am spinning a lovely lot of Kathy’sFibre at the moment Z and think I will not be able to ply as all my silks etc are S.

    Like

    • Hi Karen, I’ve only ever plied with yarn I’ve spun or thread; not any commercial yarn. I spin clockwise and ply anti-clockwise. I’ve only just managed to get my spinning at an acceptable level, I don’t even want to think about reversing the order 🙂 Why don’t you pose your question on the Aust Handspinners FB page?

      Like

  2. I have a thumbelina 🙂 Do you have a source for wheel parts? I have a George Young wheel that only has one bobbin, I was thinkibng of trying to find a men’s shed somewhere!

    Like

    • I’ve had a few bobbins made by a gent who’s retired and has been practising woodturning for many years. There’s a workshop in his retirement village and that’s where he carries out lots of woodturning projects. You’ll find there are woodturning organisations all around the place. Try Googling for the nearest one in your area or contact your State organisation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

