New Zealand Sheep Haul!

Let me first say how saddened I was to hear of the earthquakes in New Zealand this month. They occurred days after I returned home from a wonderful 14 day cruise around that beautiful country. I do wish everyone in those affected areas all the best Aussie luck I can send Please be safe!

Although my holiday was mainly a cruise, we did stop at six lovely cities and towns so of course, I managed to add to my collection of all things sheep!

This little alpaca caught my eye and he’s the first alpaca in my collection 🙂

alpaca-toyAnd my first brown sheep!
brown-sheepWho could resist that cute face 🙂
sheep-01Another apron to add to my collection.
sheep-apronI haven’t done any cross stitch for eons so I’m going to have to start so I can complete these cute little bookmarks.
sheep-book-marksThese cute plastic cups couldn’t be left behind!
sheep-kids-cupsAnd of course, I had to add to my sheep mug collection 🙂
sheep-mug-01
sheep-mug-02This one is quite unusual.
sheep-mug-03
sheep-mug-04This little quartet of sheep is quite unusual and quite small so it was easy to pack (and buy!)
sheep-ornamentA rather unusual vinyl holdall with a zip top.
sheep-plastic-zip-caseI found these microwave/oven mitts at a market in The Octagon in Dunedin.
sheep-pot-holdersSalt and pepper shakers!
sheep-salt-and-pepper-shakers-01
sheep-salt-and-pepper-shakers-02A little All Blacks supporter 🙂
all-blacks-sheepI picked up these salt and pepper shakers in a one day sale on board the Sea Princess. They were the only ones there so I literally grabbed them!
sheep-salt-and-pepper-shakers-03Sheep paper serviettes…..who’d have thought!!
sheep-serviettesAs if I need more socks!
sheep-socksMore goodies from the market in The Octagon in Dunedin.
sheep-towels-01I use these hanging hand towels in the kitchen every day!
sheep-towels-02Lots of souvenirs, some of which I kept and some were given to friends.
souvenirs-01
souvenirs-02
souvenirs-03I now have a huge collection of sheep tea towels.
tea-towel-01I’d love to make some project bags but I’m not the best at sewing.
tea-towel-02There was such a huge variety to select from.
tea-towel-03
tea-towel-04This one matches my new apron.
tea-towel-05
tea-towel-06
tea-towel-07Didn’t I get a great selection?
tea-towel-08
tea-towel-09And this is how I felt after each day’s shopping 🙂
two-sleepy-sheepThe scary thing is this isn’t all I bought. There are more mugs and bits and pieces which I haven’t gotten around to photographing but the good news is that I’ve just about found a home for everything 🙂

I think I need to ease up on sheep stuff for a while by keeping away from the second hand shops I normally visit.

I wonder how long those good intentions will last 🙂

Until next time…

Melanie

4 thoughts on “New Zealand Sheep Haul!

  1. That is amazing Melanie! I live in NZ and I don’t think I’ve seen so many sheep things in my whole life! But I do worry a bit about how long it will be before you can’t get into your home because there’s no room …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Melanie
    Loved your blog on all the goodies your collected whilst on your recent trip to New Zealand. I must admit that I was quite jealous as I have just been to New Zealand and was there for 6 weeks (visiting my mother in Ashburton) and only got a few souvenirs. The simple reason was because I am travelling around the world (for 12 months) and living out of two suitcases, I cannot bring anything extra along for the ride. I do like your idea of making project bags out of the tea towels, that is amazing.

    Regards

    Gayle Stone
    (Woolswap)

    Like

    • Hi Gayle, how difficult it must be to resist all those little bits and pieces you’d love to buy but I’m sure that is offset by the wonderful experience of travelling around the world for a year. What an adventure that would be! Ashburton….the home Ashford spinning wheels. Take care and I’d love to hear more of your adventures. Cheers, Melanie

      Like

Leave a Reply

