New Zealand Wool Haul!

I have finally managed to sort out all the wool I bought in New Zealand! Wow, did I buy that much??

Knit World in Dunedin is a must visit. The prices are very reasonable (and cheaper than some other shops in Dunedin) and the array is vast!

122-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 123-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 124-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 125-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 126-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 127-dunedin-knit-world-20161104 128-dunedin-knit-world-20161104I was quite tempted by these Touch Yarns Lace scarf kits using this 2ply blend of 80% alpaca / 20% merino.

touch-lace-2ply-kit-01 touch-lace-2ply-kit-02Four 50g balls of Happy Feet sock yarn never goes astray! I bought some of this yarn last year and it made a lovely pair of socks.

happy-feet-4ply-pink-blue happy-feet-4plyAnd another 100g ball of sock yarn; this time Nako Boho.nako-sock-yarnA visit to the Stuart Street Potters Co-operative in Dunedin is well worth it. As well as a huge array of pottery goods, they also sell some hand dyed yarn which I couldn’t resist. This is 200g of a 4ply Corriedale dyed in lovely shades of blue, green and plum.

4-ply-dyed-aThis 4ply blend of 15% alpaca / 55% merino / 20% nylon / 10% possum is called Roast Chestnuts πŸ™‚
alpaca-merino-nylon-possum-4ply-02The pottery was also quite stunning and I had to have this mug which had a sheep on one side and a sheep dog on the other πŸ™‚

130a-dunedin-20161104On arrival at The Octagon in Dunedin there were some markets setting up (I believe they set up whenever there’s a cruise ship in town). A quick look around and I found a stall run by Flagstaff Alpacas. I just couldn’t resist these 4 x 200g skeins of gorgeous hand dyed alpaca.
flagstaff-alpaca-4ply-01There were so many to pick from!

115-dunedin-20161104 117-dunedin-20161104In Wellington I, and one of my travelling companions, were very fortunate indeed as we spent the day with Mary Knox, who’s so knowledgeable when it comes to New Zealand spinning wheels and spinning in general. Mary took us to the Holland Road Yarn Company. What bliss it was to be in this shop!

99-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102 100-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102 101-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102 102-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102 103-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102 104-holland-rd-yarn-co-wellington-20161102It was so hard to select yarns from the huge array but this is what I ended up buying. Six balls of Outlaw Yarn Bohemia Sport 5ply which is a 45% alpaca / 45% wool / 10% other very soft yarn indeed.

outlaw-yarnTwo 50g skeins of Malabrigo Lace baby merino.

malabrigo-lace-02I also visited a few other shops where I managed to pick up a few different balls of yarn. This is the very popular Opal Sweet & Spicy sock yarn.

opal-sock-greenAnother kit; this time a Touch Yarns 4ply pure merino.
touch-yarns-4ply-kitA visit to the Agrodome is a must if you’re into yarn! As well as the sheep show, there’s a large Woollen Mill shop which is filled to the brim of lovely yarn and yarn garments.

26-agrodome-2016103128c-agrodome-20161031All the beautiful wool!!
58-agrodome-20161031 59-agrodome-20161031 60-agrodome-20161031 62-agrodome-20161031I’ve never heard of this particular brand of yarn called Tree Children and I was told it would no longer be available so I bought these three balls of 4ply alpaca / merino.
tree-children-4plyI’m quite exhausted after looking at everything I’ve bought. Now I just need to find the right pattern to go with the yarn, in particular the Outlaw Bohemia and the Tree Children yarn. Any pattern suggestions??

Until next time…

Melanie

9 thoughts on “New Zealand Wool Haul!

  1. We had a fun day in Wellington, didn’t we! Just looking at all your yarn makes me feel a bit daunted – but the really impressive thing is that I know you’ll actually knit it all! (How does she do it?)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you been to Goulburn NSW to visit the big merino? If not, it should go on your bucket list. We are very proud of our Rambo. The Goulburn Knitters Group, with the help of the local community, knitted him a scarf for Goulburn’s 150th anniversary of being declared the first inland city. It had to be installed with a cherry picker! That’s how tall he is. You can go up inside and look out of his eyes.

    Like

  3. I wish I’d been a spinner when I was in Dunedin, instead I was a High School student with a hangover.
    Oh well, gives me another reason to go back!
    Did you get anything with possum in it? I had a few knit items that I bought while there, but all but the scarf have been shrunk or lost.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Melanie,

    When I first looked at pictures of your N Z wool haul, I thought those shelves of wool were in your bathroom!!! Finally Melanie has

    lost the plot!!! Looks like you had an amazing time. If you started knitting now – didn’t buy any more wool (ha ha), how long do you reckon it would take to use all you have? Don’t mind me, I am having wool envy!!!! Cheers, Jan

    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

