Heliotrope Socks – Pair # 51

It’s been a while since I’ve shown you a pair of completed socks but I have still been knitting them! This pair was a test knit and I’m embarrassed to say, I finished the first sock in April and the second sock only recently. I’ve just been so sidetracked over the months either knitting other garments, spinning or weaving. Heliotrope socks were created by a very talented pattern writer: Dana Gervais whose patterns can be found in her Ravelry store.

Dana lives in Canada but no matter when I post a question or comment on the forum, she always responds so quickly! Her attention to detail is amazing and I can highly recommend her patterns. I also follow Dana on Instagram.

I love this pattern! The sock is worked from the cuff down, features a delicate cable pattern, heel flap and gusset and a toe that is grafted with Kitchener stitch.

heliotrope-socks-01The pattern really pops against the purple sock yarn don’t you think?

heliotrope-socks-02heliotrope-socks-03heliotrope-socks-04The yarn I used is Waikiwi by Naturally.

naturally-waikiki-purpleLove this yarn as it’s easy to knit with and doesn’t split. I’m not usually a purple fan but I rather love the richness of this royal purple.

I’m really quite pleased with how my sock knitting has progressed. I no longer get that little hole which sock knitters will know about 🙂

heliotrope-socks-05This heel is called the half handkerchief (v-shaped heel).

heliotrope-socks-06The pattern is created by these two stitch cables. I used another needle which was fiddly to start with but I soon became adept at it!

heliotrope-socks-07I have just finished another pair of Dana’s socks for another test knit. This time I made sure I finished the second sock straight away. I’ll show you them very soon.

I wish you all a wonderful, happy, healthy and prosperous 2017 that is filled with lots of yarn and fibre 🙂

Even though it is quite hot in Brisbane today, I will be sitting down to finish off another pair of socks! What do you have on your needles?

Until next time…

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Heliotrope Socks – Pair # 51

  1. What method do you use to avoid the hole, Melanie? I’m trialling different ones at the moment, but I’m still getting a small hole. Grrr!

    Like

    • Once I’ve picked up the stitches along the heel flap and before knitting across, I pick up a stitch/bar and twist it and then knit. Once I’ve knitted across, I again pick up a stitch/bar, twist it (and knit it) and then knit the stitches along the other side of the heel flap. Hope this makes sense. It works for me as it gives a nice dense look where a hole would sometimes appear.

      Like

Leave a Reply

