Suvena Socks

I bought this gorgeous sock knitting book called The Sock Drawer from the UK recently. It has some beautiful sock patterns and the photos in the book are quite stunning. As you know, I do love knitting socks and when a new book appeared in another knitter’s Instagram feed I was immediately intrigued and sought out the book.

the-sock-draw-by-verity-castledine

I certainly wasn’t disappointed. After reading through the book I decided on the Suvena socks.

suvena-socks-05

I was really quite intrigued at how the cable pattern moves across the front of the leg in a spiral. Slowly twisting across the from top of the socks, this travelling cable is inspired by a fish tail braid. Its name comes from the Indian word for ‘braid of beautiful hair.’ The six row repeat is memorised quickly and the travelling element deceptively simple to master.

suvena-socks-06

It’s quite beautiful isn’t it?

suvena-socks-12

I knew exactly what yarn I was going to use. Remember the solar dyeing I did not long ago? I think this yarn was a perfect selection.

suvena-socks

I love the shades of orange and yellow; they’re such fresh colours.

suvena-socks-15

I must stress here that I did find a couple of crucial errors in the pattern which would cause some angst to those quite new to knitting socks. I made the L size and here are the corrections to the errors I found:

Errata: large size only

To work the heel:
Working across 36 st,
WS: sl 1, k2, p4, k4, p4, k6, p4, k4, p4, k3
RS: sl 1 wyif, p2, k4, p4, k4, p6, k4, p4, k4, p3

To turn the heel:
With RS facing,
sl 1, k19, ssk, k1 turn
sl 1, p5, p2tog, p1, turn

suvena-socks-08

There is a Facebook group called The Sock Drawer KAL where more errata can be found for some of the other patterns. It is such a shame the patterns weren’t tested by a number of knitters before being published as this is the only thing that lets the book down. The presentation of the patterns and the photographs are beautiful and it really is a great addition to any knitter’s library. I am so glad I own this book 🙂

suvena-socks-13

I can see these socks are going to be a favourite not only because of the pattern but because of the colours too 🙂

suvena-socks-02

I have since made another pair of socks from the book which I’ll show you very soon.

suvena-socks-17

So, if you are on the lookout for another sock pattern book to add to your collection, I would highly recommend The Sock Drawer by Verity Castledine but do check beforehand if there are any errors in the pattern and if you do come across something that doesn’t seem quite right, post a comment in the Facebook KAL as someone else may have a solution.

Until next time…

Melanie

 

2 thoughts on “Suvena Socks

  1. Lovely socks! Do you get much of a chance to wear them in QLD? It looks like the socks are the same, not symmetrical. This would drive me nuts; I’d feel like I had two left feet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

