Sunset on Mars

Firstly, I’d like to send all the very best to those who have been adversely affected by Cyclone Debbie in north Queensland, Rockhampton, south east Queensland and northern New South Wales.

This cyclone caused massive amounts of damage. It came across the coast and hovered over Shute Habour, Bowen and the Whitsundays for longer than expected thereby causing more damage and then moved south so quickly. I can’t believe the amount of flooding in Brisbane and northern New South Wales.

Luckily I wasn’t affected but some people have lost everything. The Fitzroy River in Rockhampton is now getting ready to break its banks. Mother Nature can be so cruel can’t she?

In light of all the gloom and sadness, I thought I’d blog about something cheerful.

This shawl is bright and beautiful and stands out!! When I first saw the fibre in Ixchel Bunny’s blog a number of months ago, I was quick to grab 100g.

Sunset on Mars

Sunset on Mars 02

It was also quite fortuitous that I should buy a second hand spinning wheel that came with 100g of red merino which I knew would be great to ply with.
Sunset on Mars 05

That spun yarn sat in my stash until a month or so ago when I was at a small spinning group where one of the members was showing a shawl she’d recently made. It was the Holden Shawlette. I knew I had that pattern so when I got home I found the pattern, caked the yarn and started. The original pattern is no longer available, however, a new patternย called the Holden is available.

Sunset on Mars001

What an easy knit and the pattern shows off the beautiful colours.

Sunset on Mars002

I found some orange beads and added them to the picot bind off.

Sunset on Mars006Sunset on Mars007

I didn’t split the roving; just spun it as it came and I love the gentle changes of colours.

Sunset on Mars009

This pattern is ideal for knitters who are venturing into knitting lace-like shawls. The feather and fan pattern is very easy and achievable.

Sunset on Mars008Sunset on Mars010Sunset on Mars011Sunset on Mars013

Sunset on Marsย is destined for the Redlands Spinners & Weavers Open Day fashion parade on Tuesday, 20 June and then it’ll be placed on the members’ stall in case someone wishes to purchase it ๐Ÿ™‚

Sunset on Mars004Sunset on Mars005

I hope you’ve all enjoyed a very crafty weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’re in a flood prone area, please be safe and take care.

Until next time…

Melanie

10 thoughts on “Sunset on Mars

  1. Oh Mel, I certainly enjoy your posts! This one made me smile and feel warm and cheery! This shawl has the WOW factor. Thank you!Regards,Jane KaysNew Jersey, USA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

