Bluey Socks…….Pair # 29

I was up until 11.30pm last night which is simply unheard of for me. I started knitting the Ilene Bag and was so excited about how it was turning out that I couldn’t put it down! I hope to finish it in the next day or so, so I’ll show you the pics then but here’s a glimpse.

Ilene Bag 01

Lovely bright red Patons Bluebell 5ply (sport) yarn that I bought over a year ago in a job lot on Ebay. It is the perfect yarn for this bag as it stretches so well.

Okay now back to this post….

I started my ‘Bluey’ socks while I was on holidays in Noosaville in July and finished them on my return home. I’ve had a bit of a spate of knitting plain vanilla socks using some lovely patterned yarn. I think I’ve finally learned my lesson….you need to knit a plain sock if you’re using a great self-patterning sock yarn.

Bluey Socks 02This is my first pair of blue socks as I gave the last pair away as a present to a dear friend of mine.

Bluey Socks 04

The pattern comes from the Yarn Harlot’s book “Knitting Rules” – Sock Recipe: A Good, Plain Sock by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and is an ideal pattern to use with self patterning sock yarn. Nearly 10,000 pairs of socks have been made using this pattern and recorded on Ravelry!!!! I know the pattern off by heart now.

Bluey Socks 08

Nothing like getting some different photos when you’re on your holidays and right beside the Noosa River.

Bluey Socks 06

Love the heel flap in this pattern…Sl1, K1 repeat across the odd rows and then Sl1, P across the even rows.

Bluey Socks 16

Bluey Socks 18

I used S.R, Kertzer On Your Toes 4 Ply with Aloe Vera, one of the many balls of sock yarn I’ve purchased over the last year. It’s now discontinued.

On Your Toes 01

Bluey Socks 10

I must start looking for another pattern with some detail and use some of my solid coloured sock yarn but all I seem to be doing is jumping between knitting all sorts of different items….from baby clothes to bags to socks to scarves to hats….. It’s so much fun having access to so many fantastic free knitting patterns on Ravelry.

Until next time…

Melanie

7 thoughts on “Bluey Socks…….Pair # 29

  1. I think you have outdone yourself, yet again, Melanie these blue socks are absolutely superb. Love them and thanks for sharing.
    Helen

    Like

    • Thanks Jody. A year ago I’d never knitted a sock but after a three week course (3 Saturdays for 3 hours) I’ve now finished my 30th pair (yet to be blogged about). Can’t wait to show everyone the bag too!

      Like

  2. I agree with you on using plain pattern for hand painted yarn. The yarns colors are great. I use the same pattern over and over because it fits perfectly.

    Like

      • I feel the same way, I have lots of socks but all the same pattern. Think its time to try something in solid color with a pattern in it…

        Like

Leave a comment