My Stunning Serengeti Scarf

This is the second time I’ve made this Cable Bias Scarf as I love the pattern so much. In fact, I am quite enamoured with a number of stitchnerd’s (Susan Ashcroft) patterns. What I like about them is the fact there is a lot of garter stitch which makes it easy to knit and talk at the same time, and yet there is enough of a design in the pattern so the finished product looks quite impressive.

BTW if you go to the Cable Bias Scarf pattern page on Ravelry and scroll down on the left hand side you’ll spot the blue scarf I made using this pattern. It has MelsNattyKnits underneath the picture.

I have since purchased three more of stitchnerd’s patterns and have just started the Leafy Bias scarf which I hope to show you very soon. It’s looking a real treat!

Here’s the Serengeti Scarf…

Serengeti Scarf 01

Serengeti Scarf 03

The yarn I used is Shorn Fibers’ merino superwash DK and this is quite possibly one of my favourite colourways and it’s called Serengeti. I have received so many positive comments about the colourway from friends of mine, so Angela this post is for you. I simply love the colours in this yarn…..this has to be your best creation to date!

Shorn Fibers Serengeti 05

Shorn Fibers Serengeti 07

If I remember correctly each skein weighed 115g and I used two skeins for the scarf.

Some close up photos of all those beautiful colours…

Serengeti Scarf 05

Serengeti Scarf 06

Serengeti Scarf 09

Serengeti Scarf 10

I can’t wait until next winter when I can start wearing all my scarves!!

Tomorrow I’m off to a craft fair with the hope of buying some lovely crafty bits and pieces for myself and maybe even some early Christmas shopping! This will be followed by my fortnightly Knit and Knatter with the lovely ladies from the Redlands Spinners and Weavers group. I love these sessions soooo much as we have fun talking, spinning, knitting, crocheting, drinking coffee and eating sinful cakes!

Until next time…

Melanie

5 thoughts on “My Stunning Serengeti Scarf

  1. Hi Melanie,

    It turned out beautifully, the pattern shows off the colourway perfectly. The Merino SW DK base is one of my favourites, it’s lovely and squishy. I think I’ll add this pattern to my queue. Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  2. This makes me think of Missoni – at a fraction of the price no matter how much the yarn cost. Truly beautiful. I love the edging too. You always do a lovely job on your knits!

    Like

Leave a comment