Margarita Hat

I don’t often wear hats in winter but when a pattern catches my eye I feel compelled to make it as was the case with this gorgeous hat called Margarita.

It’s one of the patterns in the 2015 Knitting Calendar which my son gives me every Christmas. It’s the best present I could ever ask for!

2015 CalendarMargarita Hat 01You could even place a small brooch on the brim of the hat as shown in the pattern picture.

Margarita Hat 05Isn’t it a delightful little hat?

I love the foldback brim although I must say you need to concentrate when completing some of the rows for the brim. I had to ‘tink’ quite a few rows at one stage. Maybe it was because I was sitting on the banks of the Noosa River and kept glancing out and gazing at the tranquility of my surrounds 🙂

Noosaville 30-7-15 01As the brim could have a tendency to fall forward I will probably stitch it back in about 4-6 places (one of these days!!). I always seem to avoid using a needle and thread at all costs so I wonder how long it will take me to do this!!

Margarita Hat 08The wool I used is Lana Gatto Super Soft in a lovely soft milk chocolate colour.I can highly recommend this wool; it is incredibly soft and luscious and feels wonderful against your skin. I picked it up from Sheep Thrills last year on sale for AU$6.50 a ball and I used 75g for this hat.

Lana Gatto Super Chocolate 01 I have quite a bit of this wool so I am tempted to make another hat as it is such a quick and easy knit.

Margarita Hat 15Margarita Hat 16As you know I made my first Corner to Corner crocheted throw while I was at Noosaville and I have since started two more! I managed to buy a couple of lovely KnitPro crochet hooks at Sheep Thrills and have been quite spoiled using these lovely hooks.

KnitPro crochet hookUnfortunately I only bought three sizes so I hopped onto Ebay a couple of weeks ago and found these nine crochet hooks for only AU$9.89 with free postage from Darwin. Bargain!!

Crochet Hooks 02Crochet Hooks 01I’m using the 3.5mm hook on my C2C Baby blanket and it’s fantastic! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to the traditional thin steel hook again 🙂

I also picked up this spoon on Ebay recently with a little spinning wheel on it. Very cute I thought.

Spinning wheel spoonOne of my friends recently holidayed throughout some remote parts of Australia and sent me these two photos from the Australian Stockman’s Hall of Fame.at Longreach. It’s a kangaroo sitting on top of a bale of wool doing some knitting 🙂

Stockmans Hall of Fame Knitting Kanga on a Bale of Wool 02Stockmans Hall of Fame Knitting Kanga on a Bale of WoolAnd lastly here’s a sneak peek at another gorgeous yarn bowl that Kimberly from Earth & Stones Creations is making for me. It’s a lot larger that my other two and this one looks like the sheep mugs that Kimberly made for our 2015 Open Day. This is the drying stage for the bowls and mugs. I am so blessed to have found such a wonderful artisan who makes these amazing bowls and mugs.

Yarn bowls drying 3a

That’s all my news for the moment. Until next time…

Melanie

Now for

Leave a comment